I'm going to be an astronaut

in #motivation5 years ago

Great news...I'm going to be an astronaut! That's right folks, it's happening. I'm going to blast off into space wearing one of those spacesuits and get to experience weightlessness, walking in space and eating my food out of a toothpaste tube. I'm going to command the spacecraft, be the pilot. You know why? Because I can do anything I want if I set my mind to it!

But yeah...I'm not really going to be an astronaut am I? You know why? Because it's impossible for me to do so. Impossible. Hmm hang on, I can do anything I want if I set my mind to it right? Wrong. That's just something people say when they don't have any tangible advice about chasing, and attaining, goals...It's a generic you can do it! sort of comment, a little encouragement, nothing more. It doesn't hold any real value, and certainly no advice in respect of moving a person forward and closer to their goal. No, you can't do anything you want to.

This doesn't mean a person can't achieve great things of course and history is full of people who have set their feet upon a path and achieved great things, their goals. Adolf Hitler did it of course, to a certain extent, until the rest of the world derailed his insane attempt at conquest. No, I don't agree with what he did and caused to happen, but he certainly attained a great deal through his efforts.

Albert Einstein didn't speak until he was four and he achieved a thing or two. Jim Carrey made good too after dropping out of school to support his struggling family and ending up living on the street. How about Benjamin Franklin who also dropped out of school (at ten). He seems to have succeeded, yes? Another? Richard Branson overcame his dyslexia to build one of the world's most recognisable brands. The world is full of people who have achieved great things, not just famous people, but everyday people like you and I, however have they relied upon the rather empty you can do anything you want statement to do so? No is the answer.

Achievement comes through hard work, effort, ownership and responsibility together with many other elements a person must apply towards the attainment of a goal. I also believe one must understand themselves and make a judgement on what is possible because anything simply is not. I don't mean limit oneself, I simply mean taking stock of possibilities and setting the right goals. It would be a shame to see someone waste their life trying to be heavyweight champion of the world if they were the size of a jockey and only had one arm right?

There are set parameters around goals, and goal setting, one of which is that they need to be achievable and making them unachievable or unrealistic is not going to move a person any closer to them.

  • Can anyone have the right attitude to help them achieve great things in life? Yes
  • Can anyone learn how to set goals and plans to achieve them? Yes also
  • Can anyone learn how to apply ownership and responsibility in respect of their goals? Of course
  • Can anyone choose to take the correct steps on the way towards their goals? Sure they can

To sit back and embrace the you can do anything you want to ethos without actually doing something is futile. To chase a goal that is quite simply unattainable is a fools errand.

Don't get me wrong here, I'm not saying to cast aside your goals and aspirations; Nothing could be further from what I'm trying to say. I mean that a person needs to focus effort in the right direction based on what they are...Remember our one-armed-jockey friend from above? He's never going to be heavyweight champion of the world but maybe he could found a one armed small person MMA cage fighting event and attain his goal of kicking someone's ass? That's achievable and somewhere his energies will have a chance at repaying him in kind.

Anyway, I'm off. I've decided I'm going to be the first person to make a Lego spacecraft, travel into a black hole, plunder another planet and return bearing new technology back to Earth to solve the over-population issue, starting with vegans...Should only take me a week or so...

source of image

Sort:  

You got a 1.64% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @allover! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 40 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70446.49
ETH 3571.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73