Motivational Boost Day 1 (Written on day 2)

in #motivation5 years ago

I had wanted to get this post out yesterday but with the turn of events in the afternoon, I wasn't able to.

A few days ago I wrote a post, With The Right Motivation. I talked about the steps I thought were important to help getting us back on track and asked for support from you fellow Steemains.

This post is where I talk about the start of my journey of weight loss, to be where I want to be.

I can say that yesterday I was looking forward to my morning. That is something quite different for me. I usually don't like mornings and I want to become a couch potato for most of the morning. Like from 8 to 11. I don't like to be bugged. But yesterday was different. I had something to look forward to and I even had a bit of a skip in my step.

In my post I was given great motivation (and I still do!). @zyx066 gave me a virtual push in the derriere, @lymepoet that told me to take time for myself (very rare and on occasions do I do that). @yestermorrow talked about fitbit and actifit and keeping my rompus happy 😉. @mattifer told me to go for a walk and take in the views. I received more comments that gave me a boost of confidence and felt good to be doing this. And this is what had me going yesterday morning.

After dropping off my youngest daughter (other 2 were already gone to school) at an early learnings program, I quickly came home, gobbled up a quinoa, nut and chocolate granola bar along with a clementine. Grabbed the leash, threw on my coat and started my walk with my trusty companion, Piper.

I wanted to talk a walk in the trails but with the recent snow storm we got made it unwalkable unless wearing snowshoes which I do not have. The trails are not packed down yet. So I decided to walk to each end of town starting with the small hill upwards.

)

I kept a good pace for Piper and I and walking slightly uphill gave a nice warm up on my thighs and hips. It doesn't look like much of an incline in the picture. It is more than what it shows.

Reaching the outside of town, I had to turn around once I reached the 90 km zone. Piper isn't used to vehicles much and fast vehicles really makes her nervous.
But once I turned, I stopped to take in the view.

)

This picture doesn't do it justice. Here is a close up.

)

After coming back down, the dog-o and I walked around town keeping close the forest's edge. It is a much nicer scene to take in.

In the pictures above you can see that my town is a very small one and surrounded by forest and nature. It is what I love most about this place.

So to @mattifer, the 20 minute walk goal has been completed! Although I think it was a little more than 20 minutes 😛

After this walk, I was starving! The granola bar and clementine didn't last. I had an hour left before having to pick up my little one, so I took the time to have breakfast and take that 30 minutes to myself as per requested by @lymepoet.

The 30 minutes was time well spent. What did I do? I started learning how to play the violin! This has been one of the things I have been wanting to learn. My husband bought me this violin for Valentine's Day last year and I never was able to take the time to try my hand at it. I should say I never let myself take the time... Until yesterday!

>

This is my black beauty. It isn't the top of the line violin. Those are most expensive and I would have to sell my house to afford one.

But I love how it is black (so suiting my style) and all in all it has a great sound and is beautiful. I love it.

In this 30 minute time I learned how to take proper care of my violin, the name of the parts and how to play Twinkle, Twinkle Little Star.... I still have to practice but for the most part, it isn't so bad. Don't worry, I didn't take a video of it. Your ears are safe. 😆
I still need to learn how to tune it but for now my husband can do that part for me. He doesn't play the violin but tuning it is somewhat like tuning a guitar (I think). He has no problems doing it.

So how did I feel after all this?

I felt great! My hips hurt a little from the walk. I was tired after all that fresh air and brain training. I didn't feel like cleaning after all that. But my mood was 100% I felt more motivated to do things (other than clean lol.)

I still have to make a routine that works for me. So far I am liking the morning walks and violin practice. Perhaps that is something I can stick to. Although this morning I am not able to as Frankie didn't want to go to her program and I have to run to town for errands. There isn't a grocery store in my town. Always have to travel for shopping.

And now I leave you all with this, my day is not over and when I come back, there is more requests that I will be able to fulfill. I am still feeling good about it and looking forward to achieving these goals.

Oh I almost forgot to set my goal. I am going to start with making weekly goals. It sounds big but it's not. It consists of doing 2 things a day by request of my fellow Steemians. And if there are no requests, I make one up myself which is easy to do. Now I just have to think of a reward for the end of the week.... hm....

I will be back later to write about day 2 tonight and then I will be caught up ^_^

Foxyspirit.jpg

Sort:  

Wonderful walk workout! As motivation you will receive a 100% upvote from me each day you document exercising.

You may be interested in these wonderfully talented Steemians. You have black fiddles in common. 😎

https://steemit.com/music/@thetroublenotes/tleniguf

Thank you so much! I am so very very grateful! And thank you for the added link ;)

I am going to write another post shortly to catch up but please no need to do a 100% upvote as you already did it today. I just need to catch up on my day to day documenting. Much love and respect to you!

Walking, grenola bars, a white winter, a black violin and Piper: a most peculiar ensemble, maybe the kick in the but was too much? ;-) Nah; this is great @foxyspirit! Now, if we could only get some snow-boots to complete that picture...

The kick was just the right touch!! My winter boots are not quite ready. Well my good ones anyways. I keep forgetting to spray them with a protective spray in which they have to dry for 4 hours. I shall do that tonight before bed ^_^.

I noticed you sent another kick :D Tomorrow you will definitely see a boot print.... not on my butt though XD

Thank you so so very much! Much love and respect to you <3

Where up North are you? We didn't get as much snow (yet!) as you did. The forest looks lovely. I can imagine that it looks even nicer in summer.

I am 8 hrs from Montreal. The winter isn't as humid here but it does get colder. It's different. The fall is what's more beautiful here will all the colours in the mountain :D

Where up North are you? We didn't get as much snow (yet!) as you did. The forest looks lovely. I can imagine that it looks even nicer in summer.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64555.14
ETH 3086.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85