Is Today The Day To Let Go?

in #motivation5 years ago (edited)


Let Go Of The Rules You've Created


When I created my "quotes to live by" series I held on to the original layout for quite some time, despite not liking the font, because once I'd started I thought it best to continue the same way.

The pictures in the background didn't always work either and ended up taking a lot of time to edit, or frequently they had to be abandoned and I started over from scratch. However, since I'd started that way I soldiered on.

Then, one day someone left a comment that they wished I'd post more of my inspirational minis so I decided to use one in my "quotes to live by" post. That led me on to doing so on a regular basis although I've not posted any new ones recently. It's been way too cold to be in the attic creating art! 😱

I did use the original format occasionally after that but I'm happy to say that I'd let go of a rule that I'd created for myself that was no longer working for me, i.e. the need to keep posting in the same format. I was no longer enjoying doing the posts this way so it was daft to continue.

Took me a while to see the rule I'd created for myself but I got there in the end! 😁

May your day be free from rules you've created for yourself, which no longer work for you.


Quotes 24 let go.jpg

Be sure to click on the image to view it full screen!


This inspirational mini is a mixed media canvas incorporating a napkin, vintage music, acrylic medium stencilled through punchinella (sequin waste) and upcycled board game tiles.


Most art posted is for sale - crypto or fiat.
Please leave a message here or on Discord if you would like to know more.

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Sort:  

Wheeewww.. it looks nice @gillianpearce 😊 i like that blue or tosca color, looks so nice with the music and roses too. So.. you made this for sale too?

Thank you @cicisaja.

Yes I made it for sale. I have quite a few of them now and have sold a few too. I'm thinking of resurrecting my website and starting to sell them again. 😁

Hope you will do it well in the near future, take a break from steemmonsters 😂😂😂 so I can rank up easily without you in my way..LOL

I'm already spending less time on Steem Monsters so it will be an open run for you soon not that I get in the way of your ranking up. I think it's the other way around @cicisaja. 😂

Looks great @gillianpearce!
How are you these days?

Cheers,
Peter

How are you these days?

Good thanks @fullcoverbetting. Not around here as much as I once was but staying in touch.

How are you doing?

I am doing fine @gillianpearce. I am going full force this week on steem. I did miss this a lot. Making a lot of new friends.
And now it is great to have a chat with an, euhm, old one :) (Not age related:))

What's made you decide to come back full force then @fullcoverbetting?

I am/was also pretty active on scorum. But I still do consider Steem my home. Here it is much more friendly than on other forums!

I call them my invisible fences, rules and boundaries I've made for myself, most quite unconsciously.

It's fun to become aware of some of them sometimes and say.... to myself of course..... why did I decide I shouldn't do that...... or I SHOULD do that?? Then I take down that part of the fence and explore what's beyond it.

If I were making art like this I think my "rule" would be to make them all different, where how I did one, had nothing to do with how I made another, so each time my imagination was free to run wild. :)

Yeah. I don't have any "rules" for the art @jacey.boldart. Everyone is different. The rules I was referring to was related to by quotes posts. It was also because it was more efficient to have a basic image that I could edit each time I made a new post. I forgot to mention that bit. 😂

Thank you gillianpearce! You've just received an upvote of 15% by @ArtTurtle!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your art and music posts

Please come visit me as I've updated my daily report with more information about my upvote value and how to get the best upvote from me.

Oh. I love this line that said "May your day be free from rules you've created for yourself, which no longer work for you.

"

Hi @gillianpearce!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.267 which ranks you at #2747 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 368 contributions, your post is ranked at #243.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64383.21
ETH 3098.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89