UNTIL YOU SERVE, THEN YOU CAN LEAD

in #motivation5 years ago (edited)

pozifsq0ju.pngpixabay

In my teenage years I thought been outspoken was a thing, been smart and confident depicts a true leader. In my university days, I shy away from leadership position simply because I do not want to be in people's faces, still yet I get to be group leader for assignments, for presentations even though my confidence level was on a zero. I found out at this stage that I had zero self esteem and zero tolerance for order. So I do as much as I can to be among the ones who breaks the rule....

I am among those ones you see begging lecturers to allow them submit, I pay my fees late and this is not due to lack of having but I love the rush of late registration when exasm are fast approaching. Then I left school and got a job that changed me for good. No zero self esteem anymore and no more zero tolerance for orders. I became one who helps my department leader achieve their goal. I began to serve and learn. Shortly after this, I thought I have learned enough about leadership until I started working again in an unconventional place where I became a receptionist. Daily I get to attend to strangers and all and this was where I learned how to laugh/smile when I am sad, I learned how to stand on my feet even though I was extremely tired and want to sleep or sit. I learned how to hold my hurt and pain in even when I have the urge to bite and scratch.

I had to work on my humility and learned how to humble myself to do tasks that were originally beneath me. In short I was ashamed to tell people where I was working since I have a really cool reputation....lol. I felt like I wasn't succeeding like my mates and so I wonder how I became an ordinary receptionist in a place like this after my super cool last job.

Well it all bores down to the cycle of life, where every journey and steps are leading you somewhere. I took all my lessons from this odd job and took it to my next job. I not only became a leader but a commanding one.

So I am telling you today, maybe you are feeling down from working in a great institution to working a job you feel is outside your calling. Just know that sometimes, God trains us by making us go through this unconventional, uncomfortable place and process (Not all mind you). Do not hide nor run from it because the greatest leaders were once great servants themselves and this servant hood helps reveal the truest character.

"Any fool can speak, but it's only the wise man who understands the importance of humility and meekness" Anonymous

Sort:  

Hey there and thanks for this post.
It is always refreshing to see the world through the eyes or in this case words of someone else.
Love how you described the inevitable hard and unpredictable turns that life gives us.

I used to compare myself a lot to my old peers, although I barely knew what they were actually doing. In these times social media can often times blur the reality of what people are actually doing vs. presenting to be doing. Never have I been super active on Facebook and co, but from time to time I saw a low percentage of my old peers post beautiful travel pictures, luxury, their university achievements etc. But this is only a fraction and many people are also struggling in the harsher and competitive environments.

When I have met some of them in person, they were also not all in top-paying jobs and sometimes working 2-3 jobs to make ends meet.

Anyways, I think we often forget that we have to make ourselves our mental point of origin (meaning prioritizing our dreams and goals for ourselves). Listen to yourself and if you enjoy this new field of work and your profession (and this is what it actually sounds like, because you said that you could take the experience from your old job and finally grow into a strong person that is leading tasks in her workplace), this is probably worth more than all the money combined. Very few people get to live a life with passion and no regrets and I'm truly convinced these are the people that don't show off and compare themselves to the societies standards all the time.

Sorry for the long rant, but your post got my thoughts flowing, very inspiring :)

So, here's what I find intriguing. I'm quite new to steemit as a platform. But is this just used as a digital journal?

I know I have not invested much time into that post, but atleast enough to get maybe a reply back and your view on what I wrote?

I think these kind of platforms only work when we all connect, talk, share and promote our stuff.
Many times have I know shared posts on which no one seemed to comment, even though I#m asking open questions to the audience and would really appreciate a conversation, dialogue with someone.

But I feel like steem is not the kind of platform for this?

Sorry if you just didn't see my post or couldn't answer due to work or being busy etc. just thought I'd ask for your opinion on this and how I could maybe start a dialogue with my readers

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70601.11
ETH 3576.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.78