Why It Is Good To Keep The Truth To Yourself At Times.

in #motivation6 years ago

I have noticed how quick people are to jump to conclusions once information hits the ground. It is just as a wise man once said opinions are like butt-holes, everyone has one. Honestly, we all get affected by the comments people rain on our lifestyle choices. We may act as if we do not care but deep down, it sometimes get to us. This is why it is important to keep our mouths shut when asked about our dreams.

image source

I don't know much about the Western culture, but here in africa, i think it is safe to assume that the moment a young adult decides to speak about their dreams and those dreams are not in line with what their parents have planned for them, it becomes a disaster. When peers are told about these dreams, many will try and bring it down all because no one has done it before.

One thing I have learned and will never forget is the importance of having a perspective. GaryVee said "we are going to be surprised as to much little we care about the opinions of others as we grow" and that is true. In a few years to come, we as young adults will be making decisions for not just ourselves but also those closest to us and if we let people disrespect our desire to be more, we will lose everything.

image source

It is therefore important that we keep our mouths shut even when asked and we keep on finding ways to make those dreams materialize. Just like you wouldn't let just about anyone touch your newly born baby, don't let anyone hear of your dreams expect those you know can help you achieve them.

Welcome to life.

Sort:  

You just made a great point...
I'm gonna have to point particularly at African parents cause the rate at which they jump into Conclusions is alarming.


I remember the pains i had to undergo when i needed to tell my family about my interest in studying art; they were like...
"you mean you want to be walking around and draw drawing people's potraits? Is that how you want to destroy your life? Now, go back in and reflect on your life"

Anyways i'm studying art presently and that's because i was able to get away with it; however there are lots of Africans who don't get the same chance.
I can only hope that we learn to give full attention to facts before drawing Conclusions.

I can relate to that. It is very stressful and i am glad you found a way out

That's true. How many times I heard from other older people: "you can't", "you won't". And in my 18 I live life that much interesting than their already.

live life to the fullest. Just make sure you don't intentionally offend anyone.

As time goes by, so problems will. I usually repeat to myself "this too shall pass" when I'm living something I don't like.

Keep truth to yourself, your passion, your determination will prevail above everything. Then, you won't have to say "I said so", just enjoy the satisfaction to reach your goals.

Nice analogy. I like it

"But how do I know when I 'act' and when I'm being 'me'? The act has gone on for so long and is so ingrained in my automaticity that I don't know where the act begins and the 'real' me ends and vice versa.

You have got to start dreaming again. Think about the life that you would want to see your family to have and gradually, your mind will give you answers to all the "how to do it" questions that will come along.

I think you will find 'some' parents are very similar the world over. They fear that you may do something stupid. That is their problem. Speak your truth quietly and calmly.

@kwakumax its not only in Africa but in India also where everyone wants their child to pursue their career in same line as their parents.
And it is an absolute truth that when someone starts talking about their dreams, people starts judging them this is because no one has done it before.

Very true. It's very important one has a perspective -- knowing what he or she wants out of life, and going for it, regardless of others are saying.

Very interesting - surround yourself with those who will help you achieve your dreams.

Keep the truth if it will hurt someone.
Share the truth if it will help someone.

Very nice... XD

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70351.33
ETH 3563.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.72