Monday Motivation - Your nature

in #motivation6 years ago

Source

I post 'Monday Motivation' every Monday. I hope to keep his up for at least 52 Mondays. Quite a goal I know, but let us see how it goes. Here are links to my previous posts.

  1. Monday Motivation
  2. Monday Motivation - Are we there yet?
  3. Monday Motivation - What is in your hand?

My grandmother taught me with great passion that the only good snake is a dead snake. I never saw her harm anything else but she would pursue a snake relentlessly to kill it with whatever she had at hand. She never even bothered to find out how poisonous such a snake was. It just had to be killed.

A big as my grandmother's influence was on me, I do not subscribe to this approach. A snake should not be punished for being a snake. Recently I was reminded of a story I first heard years ago. It makes a telling point but since I do not know who wrote it, you will have to be satisfied with my version.

A man was camping with some friends when a snake fell from a tree into the fire. The man immediately jumped and grabbed the snake to save it from the fire. The snake twisted around and bit the man causing him excruciating pain. In pain, the man drooped the snake and it fell back into the fire.

Grimacing with pain, the man grabbed a metal rod and used it to remove the snake from the fire. His friends were all surprised by this. They all asked, 'Why did you save the snake after it bit you?'

His reply is very telling.

'The snake bit me because that is its nature. I helped the snake because that is my nature. I am not going to change my nature in response to the snake's nature!

We do not control what happens to us. We do, however, control, how we respond to what happens to us.

The Message Bible gives us Jesus' words like this.

"You're familiar with the old written law, 'Love your friend,' and its unwritten companion, 'Hate your enemy.' I'm challenging that. I'm telling you to love your enemies. Let them bring out the best in you, not the worst. When someone gives you a hard time, respond with the energies of prayer, for then you are working out of your true selves, your God-created selves. This is what God does. He gives his best—the sun to warm and the rain to nourish—to everyone, regardless: the good and bad, the nice and nasty.
Mat 5:43-45 MSG



I challenge you to display your true nature this week!

@reonlouw



Sort:  

Great advice, we must stay true to ourselves!!

Congratulations @reonlouw ! You received a 16% upvote from @kryptoniabot & @kryptonia for your task of 1500 SUP Today.

Remember to receive votes from @kryptoniabot

Run a task on Kryptonia.*Join free here Kryptonia Account
Use the tags KRYPTONIA or SUPERIORCOIN in your Steemit post.

Delegate to the Kryptonia Upvote by clicking links: 10SP , 50SP , 100SP , 500SP , 1000SP

Due to an increased amount of tasks, we have changed up the voting power to evenly spread out the Upvote amount.

wahh, I like this! but hmm quite difficult to do. Maybe often times loving an enemy can be fake, but actually doable..aja!😊

I like the story of the snake and the man. I appreciate the nature of the man, he is very forgiving. I hope i can be like him too. rubelynmacion of kryptonia

A wonderful story and something to stand by
Business_Motivation (507).jpg

I appreciate the attitude of the man but i think it is very difficult to do.

Hola! Pues ahorita son dos personas las que me brindan la mano para seguir adelante, y esas son mi esposo y mi hija. Junto a ellos no hay nada que no pueda lograr son mi inspiración y mi más grande tesoro.
Saludos..


@maryresp de @kryptonia.

I really scare about snakes but i like the reflexion that you said, and i think no one and nothing cannot change our nature to help other no matter the circumstances. Kryptonia ID @mejia_martinez

Hi! I'm from kryptonia @karlys.

Someone that really motivates me is my boyfriend, he always knows what to tell me to cheer me up! Interesting post by the way :)

I think you're right. Snakes shouldn't be punished for being snakes. I really enjoyes your story version. @Kryptonia

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70597.89
ETH 3559.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77