That Gym Life

in #motivation6 years ago

image

On Fridays I reward myself with the three-step Mary Kay hand treatment my coach, Jenna, keeps stocked in the Hoosier Athletic Club bathroom. It is divine AND necessary as barbells and pull-ups are not gentle on the grip.

My hands are callused but soft. I appreciate their power. The dexterity in my left hand is still compromised due to the tendon tear I’m healing, but I am stronger than I’ve ever been. I am doing more than I’ve ever done.

Each Sunday I look up the week’s programming. I consider the workout per day and how I want to push myself daily and within the week. I give myself options in case my shoulder bows out early. I plan for challenges and snacks. There is a lot of mental work that goes into showing up, and more which goes into trying.

I’m doing my best at being my best every day. I am testing my own power. I am trusting myself to adapt even when it seems impossible. And I’m succeeding.

I wore a dress today and was not embarrassed by my legs. They are thick, and I’ve worked for that thickness. They are bruised because I roll out my muscles. They are strong. I am strong. It’s still surprising.

What surprises you about yourself? How do you reward yourself for work well done?

Sort:  

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64742.01
ETH 3172.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10