"MIKE CAUSED IT"... YOU DID!

in #motivation6 years ago (edited)

image

I shouldn't be writing this but I can't keep it to myself. I know Mike is a fine man, one whose bright eyes can whisper light to the darkest of nights. His smile, the second best thing after his perfect dress sense, would make a spinster slump. Two weeks ago, a feeling deeper than life itself drove me crazy.

On Monday, 5th March 2018, I sat at the waiting hall for my 11:00am flight to Lagos. Dressed in royal blue jeans and a white Paisley blouse, I sat with crossed legs as I watched planes take off from the tarmac, quietly chewing a nougat.

I had been there for a little over an hour when I felt a warm touch on my back. I turned my face at once and met a masculine face of someone I knew; it was Mike. The last time I saw him was two years ago. The shock of my weaves, coiled up in a top-knot, stood straight up. He got me startled.

We talked and talked until I found out his flight to Abuja was by 02:00pm.

" We should have lunch, what say you? "
Mike requested, staring at me in cold eyes. Who wouldn't want to have lunch with a king?

Like a gentleman, he walked me to the canteen behind the place we stood and almost tore my ribs with unquenchable laughter. He had grown more humorous than he ever was. We had chocolate sundae, hot meat pie fresh from the oven and chilled malt to sweeten our taste buds.

I enjoyed every minute we spent there until he killed my spirit with what sounded like the worst news of my life.

" Nice meeting you again. Here is my card, we'd talk. I need to go now. The time is 01:40pm and my flight is by 02:00pm"

He didn't let me return his smile before he moved, leaving me sniffling into my sleeves. As I watched him run off, a drop of pain dripped from my wailing eyes while I tried to act like I was okay.

Well, I missed my flight. Painfully, I did.
Tell me, who should I blame for that?
Mike or myself?
I was such a dummy to take no responsibility for my own trip while hanging out with someone who was smart enough to take responsibility for his trip.

Dear Mike,
You taught me a lesson two weeks ago. I've learnt that in reality, nobody really cares about you if you don't care about yourself. On the journey of life, you must take full responsibility for your success or you may fail.

#TakeFullResponsibility
#WalkTall

Sort:  

Your post has been upvoted by the @steemiansarens. Our goal is to support minnows and help them grow.

You can join our discord server here;
https://discord.gg/3dNd49E
You can also support us by donating steem/SBD or delegating SP

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66408.70
ETH 3225.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17