Be the FLAMINGO in a flock of PIGEONS!

in #motivational6 years ago (edited)
Being average is overrated. Have you grown up listening to those tedious old sayings "Don't stand out.", "Behave like everyone else." and "There is nothing wrong with being average."

There is EVERYTHING wrong with being average!

Average means you have not tried to find your uniqueness, and it is there. Everyone has it and that means that you do too. You do not have to be the best in everything but you have to stand out in something. What something? Something that you love.

Imagine if every person in the world looked and acted the same. What a boring world that would be. No pyramids, no Great Wall of China, no different types of music, food, scientific discoveries or clothing. Every tv channel would have the same shows and every store would sell the same stuff.

Diversity is a blessing, not a curse!

Cherish it. Cherish the fact that you do not have to be like the other pigeons. Pigeons are boring, why would you want to be like them anyway when you can be a glorious flamingo?


A pigeon acts like all the other pigeons. When pigeons go left, little pigeon follows and when they go right, he does not question their motives. To be a pigeon is to be satisfied with not being who you want to be. There is nothing wrong with being a pigeon if that is what you want.

Being a pigeon
because you want
to be a pigeon
is no longer being a pigeon.



Do you catch my drift? Did that last message resonate with you? Allow me to simplify it. If you are being a pigeon because that is what satisfies and fulfills you then you are no longer a pigeon because you are doing the opposite thing from other pigeons. You are being what you want and not what others want you to be.

Are you sick and tired of people telling you that shirt is ugly and out of style or how you should stop complicating and just eat what others are eating?

Don't dance, sing, act. There is no money there.
Don't get involved with cryptocurrencies, those are all scams!
You can't be good at science, you're a girl!
Stop questioning our family's faith and traditions!
Lose the attitude and do what you're told!

Come on little pigeon, haven't you had enough?

Enough of small minds and small lives? Wouldn't you like to paint your wings and fly further? Further to the other side of the coin where you take responsibility, lift your head high and live your life as you please? Try it. You can always switch sides again if you don't like it. What do you have to lose? Everything, but isn't that the point? Out with the old and in with the new?


Most of the pigeons are not aware they are pigeons. Interestingly enough, that is one of the things that is defining them as pigeons; lack of self-questioning and personal development. Most of the pigeons never use the important words such as:

WHY?
WHO?
WHEN?
WHERE?



Flamingos ask those questions and many more because they have never understood the concept of blind faith. Unjustified obedience is not in their nature and is not something they accept lightly or without a fight.

Not wanting to be a flamingo
is being a flamingo.

Everyone can be a flamingo because it is in our nature to be unique. There is no one other on this planet that is like us, we are special. You are special. Never settle with average, you are killing your divine spirit that way. Be the best that you can be in that which gives you joy. You do not need a permission to go and be what you want to be. What kind of sign are you still waiting for? Why do you even want a sign? Do you really want it? Really really really want it? Fine...

Now go on and awake your inner flamingo. Spread your wings and bravely step out of your comfort zone. Pigeons are boring, leave them behind.

DISCLAIMER: No pigeons were hurt during the writing of this post. 😁

KEEP YOUR SMILE ON!


All images used in this post were created from those that are under CC0 license and free for personal and commercial use. You can check the people who made the original photos by following these links: 3333873, marcusbouvin, kutte, phuket, jens_johnsson


@steemitbloggers

Sort:  

Cute article. I agree, too many pigeons out there in this world! I try my best to be a flamingo as often as possible but sometimes the world beats me back into a pigeon.. But that's when I collect my shit and try again to be the beautiful flamingo! One day I will truly break free, but until then i will never stop trying ;) Thanks for reminding me not to be a fucking pigeon when life is shitty!

Spread those beautiful wings and fly! Pigeons are boring, stay happy and stay yourself 💚

I love this analogy. Me being a WALLFLOWER and tend to get lost in the crowd, this post really spoke to me. I've always been the person who would rather blend in than be the center of attention but reading this has given me some food for thought about being myself and if people don't like it... oh well, cause it's who I am. Take it or leave it.

Exactly darling, just be yourself. There will always be those who don't approve but luckily there will also be those who do 💚

This post has been selected for curation by @msp-curation by @clayboyn and has been upvoted and will be featured in the weekly philosophy curation post. It will also be considered for the official @minnowsupport curation post and if selected will be resteemed from the main account. Feel free to join us on Discord!

Thank you very much 💚💚💚

YESSS!!! I love flamingoes! I will stand tall and be unique!

Good for you! I am happy that you are embracing your uniqueness 💚

One Thing stood out for me,

Diversity is a blessing not a curse

Oh yeah, that is power statement and I am glad you like it. 💚

What a lovely way to encourage uniqueness! :)

Thank you, you are so kind 💚

It's a truly wonderful post, and I love what it says and how you say it.

But if it's all the same to you I'll just go on being a Red Tailed Hawk. Solitary and high flying, big travelers (migratory) and eat an occasional pigeon just to get some ordinary in my diet. Most people never even see them, because they fly high and silent.

Thanks Petra. It's a great post. My blather is just me being me.

You can be whatever you want to be darling just don't eat the poor little pigeons 🤣

Whenever someone says I'm "crazy" or "weird" or "different" or "odd", I tell them "thanks! I'd be disappointed with myself if I wasn't." To me it's a real compliment.

I always considered that a compliment too, just like "You have changed". Of course I did, who would want to be the same person like they were 10 years ago? That would mean I have not learned anything and had no growth :D

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue #161 (6/10/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today.

Thank you 💚💚💚

I agree -for the most part- and I've written whole lectures about the matter. But I differenciate 'average' and 'mediocre' - it is not the same. I don't believe being average is bad per se - some people are happy with it, or don't have a unique characteristic to share or a unique path to pursue. Being mediocre though, and especially by choice, that is really sad!
Personally I don't consider myself average or mediocre although...I don't excel in anything even though I'm very good to a lot of stuff. I guess at some point it is also a matter of perspective...but that's why they say that simple people are happier - because they don't chase perfection or at least uniqueness in anything... [and that's why I probably never will be, as expected...]

As long as you are happy with yourself, you are excellent honey! Thank you for your lovely point of view 💚

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63282.43
ETH 3083.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85