Motorcycle Travel Series by @velimir 'The Dusk' (Part #209)

in #motorcycle6 years ago (edited)

I took my time eating calamari and chatting with people. I come out to find the dusk already setting in. The days are quite short and that simple fact slipped my mind. I mount the bike and ride northeast through the town. The evening is chilling and I might regret not minding time. But, be as it may be - let's ride.

Dusk is a very special time of day. The short hour between the sunset and night. People in visual media call it 'magic hour'. Magic hour is the best time for filming certain film scenes and filmmakers often leave those to be shot for when the sun sets. The greatest problem is that it doesn't last very long and you can take at the most 2-3 film shots if you're lucky.

It is a very different story in Alaska, where I shot a documentary several years back. As it is so far north, the real night is so short and magic hour is almost endless. This is a photo of the sunrise, I took on a fishing ship, somewhere in Pacific ocean just before a school of orcas showed up to greet us.

On my way to the exit of the town, I meet a local guy who is chopping firewood. I want to know what are those silos-looking towers in the prison yard. He answers that those are parts of a carpentry workshop that the prison is providing for inmates who choose to work, instead of sleeping through their days.

I ask if they can choose to work or not work because no system is allowed to make someone work against their will. He laughs and answers 'Yes, of course! No forced labour here. They are also paid if they choose to work. Not much, but still. Don't forget that the society pays for all of their basic needs.' I knew the answer but asked anyway, just to put my mind at ease. :-)

The chat took some more time from the magic hour and it is obvious that a long cold night ride is inevitable. I don't mind, really. One needs to find pleasure in everything that comes along. As my grandmother used to say: 'If it has to be done, it must not be hard to do it.' So much wisdom in those words.

Enjoy your day! :-)



©2018 Velimir Kovačić All rights reserved.



All images and text published in this post are my original work. I encourage everyone to use own texts, thoughts and images as much as possible. Be yourself and stay yourself. This is a proper way to build steemit.com. I do not have respect for dishonest authors. Also, bloggers actually DO matter!





• For good, inspirational read on various subjects follow: @gavvet
• For crypto news, follow always up-to-date @kingscrown 's blog on the subject.
• I really like to read @vcelier 's life story!
@ezzy writes awesome stories :)
• If you want to laugh away enjoy @meesterboom 's posts full of brisk humour and positive attitude!
• I suggest a visit to @adsactly society's blog if you feel like reading hi-quality posts about many themes daily provided by ADSactly society members!



• Vote @thecryptodrive @reggaemuffin and @adsactly-witness for your witnesses in the Witness Parliament. They are kind people who will represent you well.

I'd like to extend my gratitude to everyone who continuously supports both of my ongoing projects (Motorcycle Travel Series and Art Photography Series). Big thank you for enjoying the content and appreciating my effort. This is what steemit.com is meant to be about.





I am a member of the @buildteam crew, innovative creators of @minnowbooster @steemvoter and @steemsports blockchain projects.
Go Buildteam

The @adsactly society is a meeting point for free thinking individuals who want to cooperate. It is a welcome addition to Steemit.com community. Feel free to ask about it.



Go Adsactly


The @adsactly society Discord channel is here: ADSactly You are welcome to join!

Sort:  

Really wonderfull :D

Great post indeed @velimir. I guess this was the last part of your prison adventure :) you sure had a long chat with people around. A lot you learnt about what happens to inmates and ofcourse the prison itself.

This reminds me of the movie "Dusk till dawn " although what happened in the movie is a direct opposite of what to expect at dusk. The movie was a vampire and horror related movie, but i dont see any horror when dusk is approaching. All i see from those pics above is the beauty and best time of the day.
Awesome dusk pics there i must confess. The light of the setting sun casts the world in a gentle, warm orange glow.
For the imaginative, that picture of the sunset (that looked like the sun kissing the water), the shadows themselves come alive; the promise of a mysterious night lingers in the air. We can dare look directly, if only for a moment, at the fiery sun god :) just imaginations haha. Nocturnal creatures also warm up for their nightly symphonies.
I love sunrise too but not as much as sunsets. Always different, they range from wonderful to magical like you said, and mind-boggling. It sure is a great time to shoot some clips of romance, meditation and the weather is cool at that time. It
For me its a time for meditation with the appreciation of natural beauty. I normally like to go to the rear end of my house to enjoy the short time.
I loved your grandma's wise saying. When there’s an obstacle or work to be done, don’t go around it. Don’t run from it. Go into it. Work with it. Explore it. Learn how to be with it and deal with it, and you’ll have a skill for life. Thanks for the ride.

I am overwhelmed every single time I read your comments. :) Thank you so much for following my blog!

Those are pretty photos :) I especially like the photo before the last where you can see a pretty clear edge between day and night - not sure I ever noticed such moments during the dusk here in Israel :)

This thought that there are inevitable things that has to be done is easy to understand but hard to implement- I remember my time at the army - I carried a damn heavy sub machine gun and it caused me constant pain in my legs and back, at the beginning I used to complain a lot and the pain just didn't let me be - with time I understood it is my responsibly, I'm the one fitting the most for that and I just sort of accepted it and flowed with the pain - he was still there but I learned to ignore it. This is kinda like the photo I mentioned - sometimes you have to let the dark side be, he is there and he is intimidating, but you restrict it and live along it, keeping the good, lightened part the center of attention.
Kind of funny what i said has to do with limiting/imprisoning the darker sides when we are after the prison post - the work of the subconscious eh?

HAhahaha.. oh man :)
I know that service is mandatory for everyone where you live... subconsciousness is where it all happens, really ;)

Of course you've done it again! Another terrific post in a terrific series. You are really good at this...

Two things: One of my best friends (a HD rider) is the fire captain for a 'hotshot' crew, the crews that actually work at putting out wildfires. His crew is from the local minimum security prison. They are paid practically nothing, but still is very prestigious to get out of the prison to fight fire.

I used to hate riding at night, but as motorcycle lights have gotten better and better I now merely dislike it :)

Thanks velimir for all of this. The quality and enjoyment you provide is almost unbelievable.

Yes, this is manpower put to good use! If guys want to work, it is their right to work! :)

Twilight photos are something unusual from you. For the first time I learned for myself that the "magic hour" is for twilight directors - it's interesting.
Your grandmother said really wise words - you need to get pleasure from the process. This is the most relevant phrase for all occasions.
I wish you a good day and a good journey

Yes they are, you re right. Must make sure I do some more! Thank you!

Astonishing photography indeed. I love the short hour too and yes you are right this time is so amazing for shooting some special scenes. I never noticed about this time in movies before but now I take a look and I realized that this is wonderful time for capturing any scene. (Thanks for giving me this precious information @velimir).

I love the saying of you grandmother:

'If it has to be done, it must not be hard to do it.' So much wisdom in those words. No doubt.
Thanks @velimir for your excellent travel stories. I love the way you present. Sometime it seems that I'm there at that point of story. Keep posting and stay blessed!

You’ve got some amazing travels :)

And good photography too 😊

Nice photos
Traveling is a work on its own

Always a joy to read of your travels, I do like the first photo of your motorbike in the dusk. The sunset on the Alaskan sea is amazing, that must have been a wonderful trip. It's good to know the prison takes the effort to let the prisoners work to pass their time if they wish.
c0ff33commentaimage.png

The "magic hour"is magic for real.I love the dusk, I love the sunset, I love the sunrise, sunrise may be the perfect time to get all energy you need for that day, and for sure, you will make your day better.
Now, to end the day, you may watch the dusk, and you must do it :)
I love heaven when the sun rises and sets, because makes the paradise comes down.

I finished my motorcycle license in November. Your Blog makes it even harder now for me during winter :(

Anyway this was the frst post I read and I think you've got yourself a new reader.

Easy now, the first year is the most dangerous!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64799.61
ETH 3102.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83