Mountains Are Calling And I Must Go

in #mountain6 years ago

Hello folks!

As usual, I spent my weekend in nature, in the mountains. Past 30 days I didn't stop 'cause I'm preparing myself for great adventure and I need to be in shape. I Really didn't realize how beautiful my country is, and you can't see that from school trips. This is another plus that I attach to this activity.

19.jpg

This post is about Miroč, a mountain in eastern Serbia. It is located in the Đerdap National Park and has a spectacular view on Danube river. Its highest peak is Štrbac and has an elevation of 768 meters above sea level.

5.png

Two years ago or maybe more, I visited that region but other great viewpoint called Sokolac. From there you are able to see windmills on the Romanian side of border.

35.jpg

Not so far from this point we started to climb. Our goal was to reach two peaks, first one was Small Štrbac and the other one was Big Štrbac. Photographies bellow are on our way to the top.

38.jpg

I had no idea that tortoises live at such a height and I was lucky to be at the beginning of the group, to see how she becomes faster than Achilles (us). Hope you know Zenon's paradox, but if you don't know, long story short is that Achilles never outrun the tortoise. :)

44.jpg

61.jpg

6.jpg

7.jpg

Zoom, zoom, zoom, and then zoom some more :) ....

1.jpg

Here are a few historical facts about this sculpture. This is Decebalus, the last king of Dacia and he was the one who made the victory over the Romans and reuniate his people. Thanks to him, today's Romania was born. The sculpture was made between 1994 and 2004, by Italian sculptor Mario Galeotti. I found it ironically. The rock sculpture of Decebalus is a 42.9m in height and 31.6m in width.

We continued further, and even better viewpoint greeted us.

15.jpg

12.jpg

63.jpg

And then we went into the woods.

65.jpg

After two hours of hiking, my wish was to lay down and have a short nap, cause my allergy was killing me. If you have the same problem my advice to you is to buy a surgical mask and save yourself. I borrowed a scarf and all the way to the top I had a feeling I was a ninja / special kind of forest ninja :). Sub Zero from Mortal Kombat crossed my mind and I named myself just like that.

Name of the picture would be "Sub - Zero wins Big Štrbac".

66.jpg

This is gorge Kazan (Iron Gate) and the narrowest point of beautiful Danube river.

68.jpg

48.jpg

The gorge is full of caves, both unexplored and explored used as special attractions by "extreme" tourist agencies.

69.jpg

We had a break here, it lasted just enough to take a few bites, group photos and to spin a song in my head, "Yes, the river knows" by The Doors.

As always reaching the top of the mountain is only a halfway. It turned out that it was more difficult to go downhill, even though we had sticks. Someone from the group managed to injure his knee, so descent lasted longer than we predict.

The last viewpoint was a gold medal for all of us. I had a song for that too, but it's lame.
On the right you can see bigger pick (Big Štrbac).

53.jpg

Final look at the Iron Gate before I turned off my camera.

54.jpg

As always I hope that you enjoyed in untouched nature as I did.

Cheers until next adventure! :)

Sort:  

Saludos @divisionbell, excelente post.
Espectaculares fotografías, Miroc con sus montañas imponentes.
Gracias por compartir.
Bendiciones

muchas gracias en palabras bonitas :)

Pozdrav iz Srbije (saludos desde Serbia)

You have some breath taking views there, truly a beautiful country.

thank you very much ! from your name i can see some great adventures in the future :) be free to share with us :)

Hi divisionbell,

Your post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Keep creating awesome stuff! Have a great day :)

LEARN MORE: Join Curie on Discord chat and check the pinned notes (pushpin icon, upper right) for Curie Whitepaper, FAQ and most recent guidelines.

thank you! :)

That is amazing thanks for sharing. I love Serbia and visited three times but never this area.

As I was reading your post I was thinking how I read a travel book about a man who travels the Danube and I was thinking this is where the Iron Gate is. Then you mentioned it Kazan (Iron Gate).

I 'm glad you like my country and you are welcome here if you want to come again. :) I hope that you saw and tried some great stuff here :)

and tnx for resteem :)

Those are some beautiful photos... Great post!
Also, nice profile picture :P
Pozz

o hvala!
Vidim da imamo nesto zajednicko, a na trenutak sam pomislila da sam sama sebi greskom iskomentarisala :P

Pozdrav @divisionbell
Vaš post se nalazi u ovonedeljnoj promociji autora - a mi vam od srca želimo da nastavite da stvarate sjajne sadržaje na blogu. Za više informacija o našem radu i radi druženja sa ostalim članovima, posetite nas na našem discord serveru https://discord.gg/8ynKhMd
Srećno blogovanje!

HVala! Obradovali ste me :)

You have been scouted by @promo-mentors.

We are a community of new and veteran Steemians and we are always on the lookout for promising authors.

I would like to invite you to our discord group https://discord.gg/vDPAFqb.

When you are there send me a message if you get lost! (My Discord name is the same as here on Steemit)

Beautiful trip. Where to next?

thank you! Stay tuned :)

Odličan post @divisonbell! Ah, ta Istočna Srbija :)

Bogme, stvarno su prizori prelepi, vec drugi put na Djerdapu i u najavi jos planina za obici na istoku :) nismo mi svesni te lepote jos

bio ovde pre mesec dana al samo po putu, definitivno jos lepse izgleda kad se penjes po okolini

ne kazu dzaba da je na visini lepse xD

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70351.33
ETH 3563.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.72