#MountainMonday ~ On The Road To Yoho National Park

in #mountainmonday5 years ago (edited)

Welcome to #mountainmonday, hosted by me, @keithboone!

This is your invitation to share anything you like about mountains - a story, a photo, a drawing or even a joke - whatever you have. Tag your post #mountainmonday and drop me a link in the comments below and I will do my best to upvote and resteem your post.

Today I have a few photos to share from one of my trips down the Trans Canada Highway to Yoho National Park on the BC / Alberta border.

k5x18axi5a.jpg

There is something about a drive through the mountains truly thrills and inspires me. I am simply in awe of the grandeur of The Rocky Mountains. Below: a little experiment with monochrome.

xlqdt33nyi.jpg

Low clouds drifting through the hills above the Kicking Horse River - named by a gold miner who was having some transportation difficulties in the 1850's.

yzbj387fmz.jpg

In the middle of Yoho - across the river is the tiny town of Field, population 169.

x3l63hrh9e.jpg

The last time I was there, the whole town was "closed". I was a couple of weeks early for the tourist season. I took this photo of an old church in Field.

8in5vdmfxh.jpg

Near Field, we take the turn-off for Emerald Lake.

wpfvqaa5r0.jpg

Up here in the mountains, there is still snow in early May.

vqsudn2c7i.jpg

Below, one of my favourite mountain photos: Emerald Lake, BC, May 2nd, 2018.

6u6g46qy70.jpg

Thanks for visiting #MountainMonday! Let's see anything you have to share - it certainly doesn't have to be a long post like this. Sometimes I just don't know when to quit...

Have a great Monday everyone!

Sort:  

Hey! Awesome photos. So one quick thing regarding the name.

The name Kicking horse is because a person on Sir James Hector's Geology exploration team was kicked in the head... an old geo legend.
Here is the quote from wiki:
"A little way above this fall one of our pack horses, to escape the fallen timber, plunged into the river, luckily where it formed an eddy, but the banks were so steep that we had great difficulty in getting him out. In attempting to recatch my own horse, which had strayed off while we were engaged with the one in the water, he kicked me in the chest, but I had luckily got close to him before he struck out, so that I did not get the full force of the blow. However, it knocked me down and rendered me senseless for some time. This was unfortunate, as we had seen no tracks of game in the neighbourhood, and were now without food; but I was so hurt that we could not proceed further that day at least." - James Hector chronicles, 1858

Cheers!
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kicking_Horse_River

Check it out! I found the sign I was talking about. It's in Field. You can see an artists conception of the Kicking Horse :)
23wzgp9ct2.jpg

Awesome! Great find and great interest! Thanks for the awesome union of mountain photos and ideas!

Have a great day @keithboone!

Ah, that's great. I think they have all that on a sign in Field, or perhaps I saw it in Golden, BC which is a few miles away. So, these geologists, were they looking for gold do you think? :)

Great way to celebrate Mondays

ca m4.png

Here are the mountains of Central Asia. Big ones at that up to about 8000 m here. I like the yurts in the foreground as it gives scale and sense of place.

I have also posted this on my blog..

Long live mountain Monday! #mountainmonday
Have a great week!

That's a great photo! I'm off to visit your post right now, thank you for entering! :)

Thank you! Glad you like it! Yours are awesome as well. One of my favourite places on Earth.

Had some good memories on Kicking Horse pass! Cheers!

Glorious mountain photographs @keithboone The last one
is so beautiful! Happy mountain Monday California mountain.

That's great thanks for entering #mountainmonday. I'm heading to see your post right now! :)

Thank you for sharing! I'm off to see your page!

Mountains from everywhere, isn't that a wonderful challenge ..? You have some impressive snowy peaks here ;-)
I'm not in a hurry to see the snow in my mountains, I want to savour a bit the beautiFall season ^_^
I have some photos for this week's challenge ;-)

Have a magnificent week Keith !b77bl2xpkd.png

It's wonderful to have an entry from you, @barbara-orenya! I'm heading straight to your page to check it out! I'm glad you liked my photos, have a wonderful week, Barbara! :)

Yeow you sure got some fantastic mountains
and very beautiful photographs @keithboone!!
Here are some of our mountains for this week :-)
Happy Mountain Monday 🌄

Thanks so much @shasta! I'm happy to see another entry from you, I'm heading to your post now! :)

Wow! Stunning photos! I love how you are getting mountains from all around the world! Here is mine. https://steemit.com/mountainmonday/@melinda010100/beartooth-mountains-6bcea29f298db

Hi Melinda, that's awesome! I'm off to see your post now! Thanks for posting in #mountainmonday!

Excellent post @ylike7 thank you for participating! :)

Thank you I love your tag mountainmonday

these are some great shots, i wonder what the roads look like now? lots of snow?

Thank you very much! I'm not sure how it is at this moment, but there has already been some serious snowfall in late September, and early October. It is the trans Canada highway, and they keep it open all year, but it can get scary in the mountain passes! Snow tires are mandatory during the winter, trucks must carry chains etc.

Oh, truly!! I love this challenge, Keith! #MountainMonday shares such beautiful sights, the Rockies are breathtaking with each of the views you share the viewfinder with.

The thing is, I have no real words for most of these shots, the beauty robs me of an intelligent response. That first shot like you are screaming down the highway toward the mountain and I can feel my hair blowing in the breeze. (because it's May, right??)

The low clouds meandering through have always held a fascination for me. I am sure that I am not alone on that front. So, soft and can feel them floating. Oh, what a beautiful picture you paint with your camera.

I especially love the view of the 169 inhabitants. I confess to having lived in a town much like that in New Hampshire with 129 people in it. It was only for 9 months but the experience has stuck with me for the 100 years ago that it was. I must say it wasn't nearly as incredible looking, but, hey! You have the Rockies and I only had the White Mountains. No contest. :)

That church. Oh! Enough said.

Thank you for sharing your always incredible work. Now, get in the car. I'm taking you home with me.

Upped and Steemed

Tip!

Thanks so much for your support, Denise! I truly appreciate it! The last several shots are from May of this year, while the first three are from an earlier trip. I've driven these roads so many times I've lost track. I just checked and found the first three shots are from early October, 2014 and I'm heading east into the mountains! Ridiculous, who does that? It means I had to come back later in the year, crossing the mountains when there could be serious snow! Now that I think about it, the return leg of that trip we went through the states... that's the year I drove to the Grand Tetons and couldn't stop because I had a crazy bad concussion - and I still insisted on driving, mind you - and I couldn't even take many photos.... Ah, good times! :)

That little town called Field used to be something back in the day when the railroad had a round house there. Today, there is a rest stop on the highway across the river from the town, and a single lane bridge crosses the river. I took this photo from the rest stop parking lot this August when the forest fire smoke was so bad.... A bus full of Japanese tourists had stopped and they were taking pictures of the mountains... so sad to travel all that way and barely see the mountains!

Have a wonderful week, Denise! Thank you again! :)

hj8quw9t5p.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70597.89
ETH 3559.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77