Mountain Monday ; Dungeon Ghyll in the Lake District of Britain.

in #mountainmonday5 years ago (edited)

#mountainmonday by @bashadow

A special shout-out to @melinda010100 for bringing this challenge to my attention.

These pics were taken on a visit with my father last year to the Lake District.

Great memories.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing those shots, I just love the old stacked rock looking buildings, The lands and foundations may have settled a little bit, or so it seems for the cow's building, but it still has it all together. It looks like a nice place. Those homes must be at least a hundred plus years old. I wonder if anyone in America can build a stacked rock looking house anymore.

Yes that building caught my fancy. It's very impressive little hut and seems so fitting with the simple rural vocation of tending to sheep.

Posted using Partiko Android

I thought they were cows, I guess I need to get out more. I thought they were those white faced Hereford cows, but on closer look I guess they are sheep. I looked for them on google are they the Herdwick Sheep?

I'm not sure of exact breed. Definitely more fancy than the sheep we having running about on most farms in arid south Australia where I hail from.

I know that there is a particular black and white wool that is used for high end women's hand bags and travel bags.

Posted using Partiko Android

Absolutely stunning shots! I am so jealous of your trip. I love the old buildings, but the colors in the first picture are amazing.

Posted using Partiko Android

Your goats would love these hilly craggy spots in this part of the world.

Posted using Partiko Android

They would have a blast! So much to climb on!

Posted using Partiko Android

It's one of the most impressive parts of England I have ever seen. People think of the lakes in the lake district but this area is full of beautiful mountains.

Posted using Partiko Android

I'm so glad my #mountainmonday post inspired you to post these beautiful photos! I love this challenge but have no nearby mountains and have already posted my best mountain shots. I love seeing yours!

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! We have just given you a free upvote!

The more Partiko Points you have, the more likely you will get a free upvote from us! You can earn 30 Partiko Points for each post made using Partiko, and you can make 10 Points per comment.

One easy way to earn Partiko Point fast is to look at posts under the #introduceyourself tag and welcome new Steem users by commenting under their posts using Partiko!

If you have questions, don't feel hesitant to reach out to us by sending us a Partiko Message, or leaving a comment under our post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99