Movie review: Dead Man (1995)

in #movie-review6 years ago (edited)

The movie "Dead Man" (1995) is really weird and metaphysical, it's filmed in black and white/monochrome, the film is written and directed by Jim Jarmusch.


Image source

This movie is basically about an accountant or something like that from the East-coast, who gets a work-contract in the Wild West somewhere in a crazy town where the railroad ends... And then all sorts of strange and horrible things happen, it's a bit like a modern "Katabasis", (Katabasis meaning: A journey to the spiritual underworld), and half of the movie feels like it's in some kind of inverted version of reality...

Anyway the protagonist (William Blake played by Johnny Depp) ends up wanted for a crime, so he tries to "hightail it", and on the way he meets a Native called "Nobody".

"Nobody" is an outcast/exiled from his tribe, (because he was abducted and taken to Europe to "work" for a circus or something, "Nobody" also learned to read during his time in Europe and is well versed when it comes to poetry), and because of some strange name confusion, he believes that the protagonist is William Blake (the poet), I don't want to spoil the movie too much but "Nobody" acts kind of like a "Psychopomp" guiding the protagonists soul during this "Katabasis"...

It's a very mystical western movie, but historically it feels authentic, (I guess the movie being in black and white helps with that), but it's also a bit confusing, but beautiful, I heard the director wanted to make a "Psychedelic Western Movie", a very artistic movie that is for sure...

The soundtrack is very emotional and mysterious, by no one other then Neil Young... Iggy Pop makes an appearance in the movie, playing a rather unsavory character...

08 O Teatro Da Vida Filme Movie Film Homem Morto Dead Man Jim Jarmusch 1995 Iggy Pop.jpg

Image source.

Im a fan of Iggy, so maybe my view of his performance is a bit tainted, but I think he does a very good job playing a villain.


Good movie, but heavy and gritty, so you have to be in the mood for it...


Here's a clip from the movie "Dead Man" it's the gripping background story of "Nobody" the Native exile...

Peace, Happiness, Love and Abundance to all steemians!

• Follow
• Upvote
• Resteem
• Comment

And thanks to @janton for inspiring me to write this review. @janton, often writes about crazy stuff that happened back in days in the Wild Wild West, Im a big fan of his blog, if you like these type of stories you should check it out!

Sort:  

I haven't seen it, but I think I will now!

Thanks for the review. Great respect.

Thank you @bigtom13!
Its well worth a watch but you have to be in the right mode...
(You should be in a kind of existentialist mode!)

/FF

most welcome friend

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 12 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 14 SBD worth and should receive 78 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

great post and love the review. im in a love hate with JD at the moment after he sweetly discussed killing the president. other than that your review is superb and love all the references to the terms. youre so smart!! :)

JD, oh, the actor, yeah, he is a very controversial person, but still his performance in this movie is good. Apparently there are a few inside jokes in the movie in native tongue that are not subtitled... Im kind of curious about those...

Some are born to sweet delight,
Some are born to endless night.

I had someone very close to me just suddenly pass, so this whole post is kind of strange and precognitive or maybe ironic...

Thanks for your comment @eaglespirit your comments are always most welcome!

/FF

Life goes on, I hope... Thanks for the link... So you did watch the movie? (Dead Man).

/FF

@friendly-fenix yes life does go on and no way i told you i dont like JD anymore LOL

Yeah @eaglespirit
JD=Johnny Depp he is one of these guys who is good looking and charming enough to get away with almost anything, I guess thats why he was casted to play Captain Jack Sparrow...He he...


Image source: pinterest

/FF

yeah i used to like him and no he is not that charming. my feelings are too strong to comment.

Congratulations @friendly-fenix! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Check @resteembot's introduction post or the other great posts I already resteemed.

I remember going to watch this movie back when it came out, in 1995, in an "Arts et Essais" cinema in Paris ... Those were the days ... I loved it and keep a special place in my memory for it.

It's a very different film, they allegedly had serious budget problems, because the director insisted on the movie being shot in Black and white, it was hard to find sponsors. Also they where filming on locations across the whole mid-west and up towards Washington... Thanks for the feedback my friend!

/FF

haha! thank you sir friendly-fenix for the shout out and I think this was an outstanding review! I'm super curious about the movie now and will watch it the first chance I get.
I think this movie review in your posts could be a big hit, at least it would be for me and surely I can't be the only one!

Thanks @janton!

Well, we will see how this goes, (I did some promotion) and it even looks like @trufflepig really liked my post, so Im guessing my grammar and spelling is improving or something!!!???

Lets hope some people who missed that movie gets a chance to enjoy it...
And come back here with some commentary on the film... =)

Cheers and thanks!!!

/FF

if I had that movie I would do that, watch it and come back and comment but as far as your grammar and spelling...you might as well give up.
lol. no of course not..I didn't know there was a problem with your grammar and spelling, in fact there IS no problem, you're better than alot of native English writers!

Hello @friendly-fenix, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

@creativecrypto

Thanks a lot, I like what you are doing, your comments and upvotes are always appreciated, I sometimes read your magazine, and I always like what I read/see. Thanks for sharing!!!

/FF

You got a 37.71% upvote from @brupvoter courtesy of @friendly-fenix!

Thanks @brupvoter, you are my new favorite "upvoting bot"!!!

/FF

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63036.79
ETH 3067.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82