A Geeky Dad's Movie Guide to Shazam! (2019)

in #movie-review5 years ago

Shazam! Someone at D.C. finally got the memo. If you make a movie that has heart, humor, doesn't take itself too seriously and is fun, it does not need a perfect story, dazzling special effects or great acting. Somehow gaping plot holes don't seem as significant when you are busy enjoying yourself.





Shazam! is by far the best D.C. movie since The Dark Night Trilogy... and it isn't even a close contest. In fact, I may have enjoyed Shazam! more than The Dark Knight Rises. I realize that the D.C. lineup over the past eight years isn't exactly analogous to the 1927 Yankees, but it is still a feat to be the best of any bunch. For the first time, I can say with confidence that a D.C. Extended Universe movie is actually better than something in the Marvel Cinematic Universe. Although many people Liked Wonder Woman I think that was a result of it comparing favorably with the hot garbage D.C. had produced before it. Although it was the best of a bad bunch, it wasn't even better than Thor 2 or the Ironman sequels. *Shazam! actually fits quite nicely with the middle tier of marvel movies (which includes everything except those three previously mentioned movies and the cream of the crop which is Guardians of the Galaxy, Thor Ragnarok, and Spider-Man: Into The Spider-Verse. That middle tier includes the movies I own on DVD and will watch more than once. I will definitely watch Shazam! many times. In fact, I can't wait to take my daughter to see it in the theater ASAP (just my son and I went this past weekend).

How did it earn a spot among the highly entertaining Marvel movies?

First of all, this movie did not take itself too seriously. Instead of a brooding hero, we finally got one with a smirk firmly planted on his face. These stories are about super-humans running around in capes and underwear. If you try to deliver that in too serious of a way you end up with the unintentionally hilarious Batman Vs Superman. Shazam! is about a 14 year old kid who suddenly gets super powers. It is the perfect combination of Big and the Christopher Reeve Superman from 1978. The writers were so aware of the Big comparison that they wisely tossed in a brilliant Easter egg that hearkens back to the Tom Hanks classic. Although the movie is not a strict comedy, it winks at the audience... and itself just enough to make sure the former has a smile fastened to their face for the entire 120 minute ride.





Speaking of humor, the jokes all work. Although it was not as funny as Deadpool or Ant-Man and the Wasp, it contained a couple of big belly laughs as well as many other chuckles. A 14 year old getting superpowers and an adult body should generate some laughs... and it did. Just imagine what you would have done when you were 14 and suddenly could pass for 35.

Although the humor was a welcome addition to the otherwise dreadful D.C. Universe, it was not this movie's best feature. That honor goes to its heart. It had a huge one. The story of an orphan who refuses to give up on finding the mother he lost when he was only three years old really tugs at your heartstrings. But even that isn't why this movie moved me so much. Shazam! is a love letter to the foster parents who choose to take in and care for the 437,465 children who need them. Even with such a powerful, beautiful and essential message, there is still room for more in this movie's heart. Although the foster parents are the true heroes of this movie, the importance of family in general plays a pivotal role. As if that weren't enough, the film delivers a very poignant anti-bullying message.





Surprisingly, the movie does not contain that much action. But that is OK. The story truly carried this movie. Neither my son nor I were ever bored during the two hour run time. I don't recall a single person leaving the theater during the entire movie. I think everyone was thoroughly entertained.

Wow it sounds like this movie is perfect. But its not. Movies that rely heavily on child actors rarely pitch a perfect game. At least one or two are bound to be stiff and awkward. That was definitely the case in Shazam! In addition, D.C. continues to struggle with their special effects. Compared to Marvel, they are simply terrible. The monsters continue to look like video game characters. There is never the illusion that they are actually standing right beside their human counterparts. The script also had several gaping plot holes... but I can typically overlook those when I'm dealing with movies centered on people who wear their underwear on the outside of their clothes.

Luckily the fun factor covered up all of these blemishes.





Shazam! is not your typical D.C. Extended Universe movie... it is actually incredibly entertaining. Do yourself a favor and see it in the theater ASAP.

Geeky Dad's Movie Guide



Number of times I fell asleep: 0
Number of eye rolls: 0
Number of face palms: 0
Number of times I checked my phone: 0
Number of times I said "That's ridiculous": 0 (Ummm its a a 14 year old kid who transforms into Captain Sparkle Fingers)
Did my children like it: My son loved it! I know my daughter will too so I am taking here asap.
Would I see it without my kids: Yes!!!!
Full price/Matinee/Rental/Free/Not worth the time: Full price but you don’t need to pay extra for a premium theater. D.C. still has no idea how to create spectacular special effects.

Images 1, 2, 3

Sort:  

Saw it last night and I loved it!

Cool review. I was on the fence about it but now
I'll see it!
I can also recommend a fun superhero show called "The Tick". is on prime. You'll most likely enjoy it!

Hey man! It's been a long time. So happy to see you are still active. Shazam is a ton of fun but be warned there is some over the top acting and some plot holes.

I was a big fan of the Tick cartoon back in the day. I made the mistake of watching the new one on Prime with my kids without previewing it. I could not believe how much swearing there was lol. I might go back to it without them this summer.

Loved the review I was not really pumped to see this one even though I am a DC fan! I really thought they killed it with Aquaman so I’m glad to see positive reviews! It seems the IPs they didn’t expect are running the franchise Shazam and Wonder Woman have been their best attempts so far

Posted using Partiko iOS

Neither my son nor I were ever bored during the two hour run time. I don't recall a single person leaving the theater during the entire movie. I think everyone was thoroughly entertained.

🖕That’s a the characteristic of a good and quality movie.

Thanks for exposing this great movie to Steemers @hanshotfirst

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks for the review! I'm definitely going to go see this, have been hearing lots of good things about it

Hi friends greetings

Posted using Partiko Android

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Hi @hanshotfirst!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 6.436 which ranks you at #179 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 1 places in the last three days (old rank 180).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 359 contributions, your post is ranked at #16.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

You got a 31.72% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @hanshotfirst! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 45 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.035
BTC 66739.07
ETH 3228.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23