A Geeky Guy's Movie Guide to Overlord (2018)

in #movie-review5 years ago

Last week I took advantage of AMC Theaters' $5 movie night and went to see JJ Abrams' Overlord. In case you have not read my multiple posts on The Cloverfield Universe... I am a bit of a fanatic. When news of Overlord first surfaced, it was believed to be the 4th installment set in the Cloverfield Universe (or 5th if you include Super 8 like I do).





At first, all we knew was that Overlord would be a new Cloverfield movie set in France on D-Day and would involve Nazi Zombies. I was in!

Then news leaked that it would not be a Cloverfield movie. But there were still Nazi zombies so I was still in (although without an exclamation point).

Because I refuse to believe JJ Abrams when he talks about his films (he still claims Super 8 is not a Cloverfield movie) I entered the theater prepared to find every Easter egg that could possibly tie Overlord to the Cloverfield Universe.

Sadly, there were none. As a result, there wasn't quite enough to cause me to recommend my friends see this in a theater. It would make for a fine straight to Netflix movie, but it is not meaty enough for me to encourage anyone spend significant time or money on this movie.




Sadly there was no Slusho in Overlord... or was there? (Please see the end of this post for a very huge stretch.)

Don't get me wrong, it is not a waste of either time or money. But for me, I simply don't have time to see movies that don't include my kids, unless they are truly special. Overlord was not.

Overlord tells the story of U.S. Paratroopers who must knock out a key German communication installation in order for the Allied Force to have the proper air support during the D-Day invasions. The fact that they had less than 24 hours to complete their mission added some tension to the movie. Unfortunately the installation also happens to house a Zombie making lab... of course it does.

It seems like the creative team could not decide if this were a WWII movie or a Zombie movie. As a result, neither piece of the movie had enough flesh on its bones to sustain me (or the other few audience members).





As far as the WWII mission aspect, it was cool and had some decent battle scenes. The characters were likable and their mission made sense. The actors all did a fine job. It would have made for a great 45 minute episode of Band of Brothers.

I am not a horror movie fan at all. As a result, I tend to avoid them. I make an exception if I think the movie will be an incredibly original conversation starter. Overlord was not. Luckily for me, it was not scary... at all. Although I am the biggest scaredy cat in the world, I did not get scared one single time. The Zombie part was nothing I hadn't seen before. There actually were not even that many Zombies in the movie. I was expecting a huge epic battle between a platoon of WWII soldiers and a village of Zombies. Instead it is more like a "boss battle" in a video game. There were a couple of small human vs Zombie battles that lead up to the huge final battle with a supercharged Nazi Zombie. The Zombie part would have made for a good 45 minute, ultra-violent, Twilight Zone episode.





Sadly, when you put two 45 minute television programs together, it does not make for a great movie.

If you have the time and money to spend on watching a Netflix quality movie on the big screen, then there are worse ways to do either. The fact that I only paid $5 really helped. I'm not cheap, but I do like to get value for my money. If I had paid $15 to see this in a Dolby Theater, I think I would have been quite disappointed.

If you don't want to spend the time or money in that way, just wait for the DVD or Netflix. Luckily, for you, thanks to the fact that it is flopping at the box office, you won't have to wait very long.

Minor spoiler alert

If you are obsessed with the Cloververse and you desperately want this movie to be connected, is it possible that the substance that is being used to create Zombies is the same nectar that is the secret ingredient in Slusho!?

Images 1, 2, 3, 4

Sort:  

Thank you for this review. I actually love the series and movies done by JJ Abrams but listening to the review, I must say that recently I do not like much Zombie movies may be there were too many of them, therefore this is probably not for me. I can understand The Cloverfield Universe is something different I love mystery component of that and agree would be glad to see something in this genre. I agree it is really disappointing when you go with a great expectation and see something that was not really good that might be real frustration.

TI agree. he puzzle aspect adds to everything in the Cloververse. There honestly aren't that many zombies in this. More like one or two main ones.

Thanks for the review Brian!

One question, movie theater aside, do you still recommend watching it on Netflix or do you think there are better movies out there?

I think there is enough to it to justify watching it on Netflix for sure. I liked a couple of the characters and its not bad at all. Just not great.

have you seen Office Uprising yet? It was a funny, fresh take on the zombie genre that really surprised me.

I have not. But now I am intrigued!

Thanks

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Thank God for torrents!

Hahahahahh. you are really a spoil spot.

Congratulations @hanshotfirst! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 90000 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 100000

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hi @hanshotfirst!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 6.427 which ranks you at #178 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 280 contributions, your post is ranked at #10.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64555.14
ETH 3086.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85