Is Love, Death & Robots Worth Your Time?

in #movie-review5 years ago

Love, Death & Robots is a unique Netflix original series. Although it is almost entirely animated, it is NOT intended for children. In fact, it may be too graphic for many adults.





The show, which was created by a team lead by super-weirdo David Lynch, consists of eighteen very short stand alone episodes. The only thing they have in common is that they must either be about... you guessed it... love, death or robots. Sometimes an episode is about all three. They are almost always weird... just like David Lynch. They have the feel of "R" to nearly "X" rated episodes of The Twilight Zone.

Is Love, Death, & Robots worth your time?

Can you get passed the fact that you will be watching very graphic cartoons filled with foul language? If so, then I would say if your tastes are anything like mine, these will be worth your time.

But it is not because all of the episodes are good. In fact some of them were just "meh". But the beauty of this series are the episodes' length. Even the ones whose stories I did not care for were filled with cool animation. I have no problem with spending 6 to 17 valuable minutes simply enjoying an artist's work. The short length, accompanied by the fact that each episode could stand on its own, meant that you could watch them in bite sized chunks or binge several at once. I used both methods and was equally happy. If my wife went to sleep before I was ready to, instead of watching another round of Sports Center highlights, I could check out one or two of the stories.





Several of the episodes were quite interesting. A few were flat out awesome! Personally I really enjoyed "Sonnie's Edge", "Three Robots", "Shape-Shifters", "Blindspot", and "The Secret War". But my absolute favorites were "Suits", "When the Yogurt Took Over" and "Helping Hand". However, I can easily see why other viewers may have picked the ones I skipped as their favorites.

That is the other beautiful thing about this series. There is something for everyone... if by "everyone" you mean people who like watching "R" rated cartoons about Love Sex, Death & Robots.



If you fit into that small demographic, Love, Death & Robots is worth your time.

Images 1, 2

Sort:  

I'll admit that i have been eyeballing this one. I guess I'll check it out tonight since I've got some time available period of course then I'm going to get up early and have a terrible day waiting on mothers in my restaurant. I love my mother but I'm not a big fan of other people's mothers when they come out to eat. I am a big fan of science fiction though so if it's awesome it will make me feel better about tomorrow so here's hoping. Good to see ya buddy.

Jeez, the music in the trailer gave me an earache but the graphics look good. I'll give it a watch.

U+R 😵

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Watching netflix series sometimes getting so excited about it's further story . As per your article i think so i have to check-out this how exactly they have made it .

Posted using Partiko Android

I enjoyed the show and if I had to name a favorite it would be the one with the yogurt. Or maybe the one with the cats.

What about the one about the space station? When the guy gets routed wrong?

Now I can't remember which one that was. Oooh the timeloop one with the stripper was cool too. Mostly the animation being so pretty.

Such a weird show. I started watching not knowing what it was and then just had to keep going with them. It's really well designed and interesting but just really weird.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @hanshotfirst!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 6.295 which ranks you at #240 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 11 places in the last three days (old rank 229).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 159 contributions, your post is ranked at #14.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

@hanshotfirst, 3 is mysterious number. 👍

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @hanshotfirst! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 64000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 65000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

New japanese speaking community Steem Meetup badge
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

You got a 35.57% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @hanshotfirst! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 20 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99