JOHN WICK 3 : PARABELLUM - MOVIE REVIEW

in #movie5 years ago (edited)


o38guq19t5.jpg
John wick

Why should I or anyone watch this? I must confess, they gave us a strong reason to. Chapter two ended with John killing who he wasn't supposed to kill. That act costed him a lot. Every assassin in the city were after him. A big bounty was placed on his head, and it was compulsory to do it, as far as you are an assassin and you are loyal to the table (the highest chain of command). Imagine living in a city where almost 30% of the citizens wants you dead. That's why the movie was highly anticipated. Every fan should have seen it by now, so I'm safe to drop spoilers. I'm in love with this movie, but, sadly, ninety percent of my review here will be based on what I felt was wrong, not the good things I loved about it.

I had to check what parabellum means. Don't blame me, I'm not familiar with guns, so I don't know their names. I discovered it's a type of semi-automatic pistol or machine gun. If this was the only meaning that word has, then I would have been disappointed with the title they gave this chapter. Just because he used a gun doesn't mean they should name the much anticipated chapter with it, right? They didn't. Parabellum in Latin means prepare for war. They say it this way; "if you want peace, prepare for war." And, that's what this chapter was all about. John wanted to be alive, and to do that, he had to fight.

If you haven't watched it and you are wondering if he survived it or not, your guess is right. He's the main character and he was made to survive. John isn't a great fighter. He is good with guns, no doubt, but his fighting skills isn't perfect. He wasn't with guns all of the time - he had to fight his way through some times, and we saw him getting a lot of beatings and injuries. There was a scene that saw him fighting with some Chinese. Those guys came with no weapon; only a few brought knives, which made me wonder. They knew who John was and what he was capable of doing, yet, no one thought of coming with a gun. I know some will justify that part by saying they had to attack him when they saw him and they had to made do with the only weapons they could lay their hands upon. I would have agreed to this, but they knew John was in town and the information about the bounty had been known before it was time to kill him. So why weren't they fully prepared? Okay, let me believe axes and knives were the only weapons they were good at. Their fight with John was too lame. Just like the regular action movies, they were coming in pairs. I was expecting John to be seriously injured in that scene, but he defeated all of them way too easily.

At a point, John knew he might die if he didn't find a way to remove the bounty on his head. He claimed to kill them all in the second chapter, but I was surprised at his fears. It's normal, though. He'd killed a lot of people already, stopping the insanity was a good step. But when he met the leader of the table, I expected more. He just went there and pleaded. In fact, one of his finger was chopped off to confirm his sins were forgiven and he was given another mission, to kill Winston. The John I knew in chapter two would have killed the leader of the table and created more trouble for himself. That's what I expected; I believe the directors and writers had more in mind. Guess what? He couldn't complete the mission, which made his efforts useless. Why didn't he kill the leader and the adjudicator? That's a question I always ask myself. Wouldn't the outcome of their death be the same thing? If he killed them, they will be after him. If he didn't, they will still be after him. So why not kill those directing people to kill you. Yes, other leaders will be chosen and his death will still be wanted. He had no reason not to kill them!


hvm7xggh8l.jpg
The adjudicator and Charon

John and Winston watched the adjudicator made a call to inform the table of John's unwillingness to kill Winston. Why couldn't they kill her before she made that call? Well, the next chapter might explain why killing them wasn't a good move. There will be a chapter four and again, they ended it with anticipations. Winston betrayed John. The Bowery King is still alive and this time, he's teaming up with John to destroy the table. Something John should have done in this chapter.

Nevertheless, it's a good movie and a must watch. I'll drop my pen here.


There's a place for a movie lovers. If you like to write reviews or you enjoy reading them, you can join us here.

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

John Wick 3 was crazy, @afolwalex!

After how the 2nd movie ended, it was interesting to go further into Wick's past by watching him visit people who owed him favours. While it got sad towards the end of the movie, and surprising even, it definitely leaves the audience to their interpretations of what just happened, and what will happen next. How do you think John Wick 4 will play out? Looking forward to future posts! We’ve just fully upvoted to you.

Best Regards,
Blue Baikal
https://www.bluebaikal.io/en


Image of Blue Baikal Logo

✬ Join the contest at Blue Baikal and receive rewards! ✬
✬ --- Go to Blue Baikal --- ✬

Sure, Blue. It's really an interesting movie.
Nice project you got there, I've checked it out and I'm registering.

Thank you for visiting us :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64006.33
ETH 3077.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87