Redbox Flicks: 12 Strong - by @thedogekid

in #movie6 years ago

Movie Review: 12 Strong

This week at Redbox I was able to snag film I had been wanting to watch for some time now, 12 Strong.

If you are not familiar it tells the heroic tail of how 12 American soldiers responding to the 9/11 attacks and crippled a strategic Taliban military movement.

In fact it was said that if those 12 men were not able to do what they did, much of Afghanistan would be taken over by the Taliban.

The film stars Chris Hemsworth (Thor).

(Source: https://www.dvdsreleasedates.com/movies/8469/12-strong)

Not quite what I was expecting.

Overall the film was slightly different than I expected, though that is mostly my fault.

For some reason I had thought the story was about how they got Bin Laden, but I think I was confusing this film with that of Zero Dark 30.

Also, a mistake of mine was that I had been building this film of in my mind for about 6 months. Basically ever since I saw the preview late last year.

Puting all that aside, it was a pretty good flick.

It has a very interesting TRUE story to tell that was only recently declassified in the last couple of years.

It also helps open your eyes to what it is likely like over there for American soldiers.

Fighting a war with no rules and with many different angles to it.

If you get the chance I would rent the film.

It's rated R for military violence and language but that is about it, though perhaps still not really one for the kids.

It is also a big slow moving at times for the younger audience, though I found it a pretty enjoyable watch from start to finish.

Overall, I give it about an 8/10.

Sort:  

thanks for the review, i think i will give it a watch. sound like an interesting and enjoyable movie.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

Can you imagine? That guy was made for the Thor's role it's very difficult to see him with a horse and a gun really, he should cast Thor forever, thank you for the movie though, I love your blog always

great lesson...you have nicely discribed the diffenence between growing up and thanks sharing the beautiful blog

My hubby loves war movies, and I enjoyed watching this one with him. The language was a bit much, but I let it slide as I felt it made the roles of the soldiers more credible. I am sure real soldiers don't speak decently in those horrific situations. I also gave it a 8/10

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64207.05
ETH 3065.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87