Requiem for a dream -- A movie I won`t watch twice

in #movie5 years ago

header.jpg

There are movies to entertain you

There are movie to scare you

There are movies which make you think

there are movies which go under your skin

Darren Aronofskys "Requiem for a dream" is definitly one which falls in the last category.

Sara Goldfarb is an elderly woman. Her husband died and she spends a lot of time in front of the TV watching here favorite show.

Requiem-for-a-Dream-Hero.jpg

One day she gets a call of that show, she might be able to participate herself. To loose some weight to wear her favorite red dress again, she starts taking dietpills which include amphetamines.

Her son, Harry , has its own problems. He and his firend,Tyron C. Love steal his mothers TV regular to sell it for drugs. His girlfriend, Marion, is a fan of the needle as well.

requiem_for_a_dream_analyse.jpg

To finance their drug addiction more efficent, they decide to sell heroin themselves.

At first everything seems to work out fine, but then the supply gets low and they have to dip into their funds to finace their own habit.

Things get worse as the funds are used up and Harry sends out to prostetute herself. They all split up eventually and everyone is experiencing their own hell.

Tyron C Love

406518.1.jpg

We were 3 guys watching it on a Friday night and wanted to go out after it....we didn`t. I did not even wanted to smoke or finish my beer.

The camera and the soundtrack underline very well the "haunting"( I lack a better word ) atmosphere. Mixed with a lot of cuts it becoems a very unsettling but somehow fascinating experience.

It has been a while since I watched this movie but I still remember the most shocking experience was the story of Sara.

She was a nice elderly woman, trying to take care of her son. She was meeting with her friends but she was isolated already and weirdly addicted to that show.

But she was sympathetic in a movie were most are not.

Seeing her, how she looses her mind slowly and the lines between her reality and phantasy are slowly but surely fading more and more, was truely awful as it seems it was not really her fault. Everyone else is already an addict when we get thrown into this world, but her we see more and more sliding.

Overall it is a great movie and you should watch it...but without me.

Sort:  

;)

bild9.jpg

what does the small print say? cant read it. but I like almsot everything with the steem logo on it.

That's the link to the bigger version

I totally get it and although I agree that this movie falls into that category (gets under your skin, only watch once ), I bought it on DVD a long time ago and must have watched it 3 or 4 or times. It was a tough watch every single time. Perhaps, next time, I should justen listen to its soundtrack instead ;>)

Another movie that intrigued me but is hard to watch more than once is Gaspar Noé's Irreversible. Ever seen that one? Now I think of it, most of Gaspar Noé's films are tough to watch. The same goes, for instance, for the films of Michael Haneke.

Have a great day!

The soundtrack is so good! Great music for sports or killing dragons.

I have not seen it but heard of it. Maybe I give it a go soon but I need to be in a special mood to watch movies like that.

Haha! I have no experience killing dragons although I loved ( reading about ) them as a kid.

I totally get it. I prefer watching happier stuff myself these days, although I'm not much of a comedy fan. There's too many unfunny comedies.

Have a nice weekend! :>)

Thank you for being here for me, so I can be here for you.
Enjoy your day and stay creative!
Botty loves you. <3

A masterpiece by Darren Aronofsky.Every time i think of that film I feel something in my heart, a lighting like feeling.

The movie very interesting, but the sad story about the son and his gf who engage in selling heroin but later at the end of day when they broke, the lady prostitute which they end up separating them...

Thanks for share.

Now I got to watch it! 😀

Posted using Partiko iOS

you sure do!

Intense shit, just saw this movie last saturday. Very creative cut and usage of sounds tho

the cuts are one big part why I think so highly about this movie

mr. you got a 100% upvote from depotboost, please be sure this will be not the last upvote. thank you very much for beeing on steemit

It looks like this movie is good, i want to watching that,what this movie available in youtube?

I am not sure if it is on youtbe. Clips for sure.

I will find at google searching , thanks for your post. 😀

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63547.08
ETH 3070.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83