Does Stan Lee's cameo unite Sony and Disney Movies Now?

in #movie5 years ago

Had this thought last night that I just can't shake that I thought would be worthwhile to explore on here. Everyone that is invested in the MCU or Marvel movies, in general, know about Stan Lee's appearances throughout the films. His appearance throughout the films has always been a kind of throw-away joke or just a little easter egg for the fans. He has appeared as a Hew Hefner look-alike, a Fedex deliveryman, and a bus driver. However, since Guardians of the Galaxy Vol.2 came out, it changed the nature of his appearances entirely.

So, we know that Stan Lee is an informant for the Watchers, celestial beings that watch everything throughout the multiverse of the Marvel series. Now, there have been videos explaining this theory enough. I can accept that he has been the same character throughout the MCU watching everything that goes down and reporting to the Watchers, that is straightforward enough.

Now, the question is, what about movies that are not in the MCU? Is it the same character? I ask this because the Venom movie has a similar cameo, but it seems that the Stan Lee character is more aware of what is going on now, take a look.

He refers to Eddie directly as, "Either of you!" Others have taken this as Stan Lee referring to either of you being Eddie and Anne, but grammatically that doesn't make sense. He is referring to either of you being Eddie and Venom. This means that Stan Lee has this omniscient knowledge in the film, knowing that Eddie is Venom. This kind of knowledge wasn't displayed in the Ant-Man and Wasp film; he was just some old hippie that took too much LSD.

So, if Stan Lee's character has been watching Eddie throughout the film and knows his identity does that mean it is the same watcher informant from the MCU. Would that tie the Venom movie into the MCU based on that character alone and was a clever way of hinting at a next big crossover? Or, is the character beyond the MCU and has knowledge about the entire cinematic multiverse? That would somewhat canonize so many movies if that were the case from The Fantastic Four and Infinity Wars to Mallrats, which would be crazy. Or, last theory, Stan Lee is just being a dick and trolling the fans because he loves the Venom character and wanted fans to overthink this cameo.

This was a thought that kept me up last night, and I couldn't get over it until I started to write it out here. Is this all over speculation and thinking on my part, most likely. I haven't seen anyone else talk about this, so I thought I would give it a wack. That would be cool though if Stan Lee and Sony did this on purpose in preparation of uniting the films. Let me know what you thought of this little theory below :)




I tend to write about life in Korea as a foreigner, food, photos from trips, and things teaching related. If that interest you and you like this post, please give me a vote and follow
Fellow minnows can use Busy and Steemfollower to get more upvotes and followers, my referral links are below respectively:
https://busy.org/i/@mr-bike
https://steemfollower.com/?r=14715
Until then,
Ride on!

Sort:  

Hey man.. I unfortunately don't have a lot to say about the subject as I don't follow it much anymore since I was younger, every once and a while my friend takes me to see a new super hero sort of movie and I enjoy it, but.. It's not really a subject I can speak on very much.
Anyways..
I figured since you might not check mentions that I should leave this here.. Hope you participate!

https://steemit.com/contest/@ifc/ifc-issues-to-vote-on-and-a-side-quest

Stan Lee is omnipotent, all-knowing and all-seeing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70753.86
ETH 3589.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75