The Red Sparrow movie

in #movie6 years ago

enter image description here

Earlier this week, I went to the cinema to see a new movie, The Red Sparrow starring Jennifer Lawrence, Joel Edgerton, Matthias Schoenaerts (a Belgian actor who also played in The Danish Girl, Far from the Madding Crowd) and many famous actors that you would obviously have seen in other movies. It is directed by Francis Lawrence (Jennifer and he are not related in case you were wondering as me) and adapted from the novel from Jason Matthew. The movie has been recently rehearsed in theaters since March in Belgium.

First, let's talk about the plot before I give you my impressions on the movie:

We are in the nowadays Russia with a character named Dominika Egorova (Jennifer Lawrence), she's a young ballet dancer who sees her brilliant career ends with a fall that left her a terrible wound. She's been recruited by her uncle (Matthias Schoenaerts) who works for the Russian secret services by leaving her no choice in fact. From then on, she is trained in a kind of spying school for young boys and ladies that teaches them how to use their body and charm as weapons. As she learns to become a "sparrow", she discovers her power and becomes one of the best agents. Finally, she is sent to America to spy on an undercover agent of the CIA, Nathaniel Nash (Joel Edgerton), a kind of manipulation and seduction game begins between them...

enter image description here

Spoilers alert! From now on, I will talk about what I thought of this movie by making references to elements of all the plot, so if you haven't seen it yet, don't read it now and skip to the conclusion in case you just want an idea of what the movie is about!

The movie begins softly with some scenes of the everyday life of the main character, Dominika, as a ballet dancer and young city inhabitant. Then, the end of her dancer career comes with her fall schemed by her male partner and some jealous female colleague. We discover a really aggressive Jennifer Lawrence as she finds out the plot and beats both of them until unconsciousness.
She and her mother find themselves in a kind of precarious situation since she lost her job. As a result, her uncle, Ivan Dimitrevitch Egorov, proposes to her a mission for the Russian secret services which consists in appealing some man and steals something from him. But he gets himself killed as he is trying to rape Dominika, she's now the witness of a crime and finds herself trapped by the Russian secret services. She's dragged to a school to learn how to become a sparrow, meaning to use her body and her seduction's power to manipulate.

From the beginning of the movie, the scenes of nudity and sex are constantly present but intensify as she is following her "sparrow" training. I was quite shocked by the scenes mixing violence and sex, it was so unexpected to be presented as if it was something normal and legitimate.

She rapidly becomes the best agent since she understands fast how to use her attributes and how to analyze the wants of a person. Her superiors see that potential and send her to America to spy on the C.I.A. agent, Nathaniel Nash. I found this part of the movie a bit obvious, the eternal scheme of the character falling in love with the person she/he is not supposed to fall in love with. What is interesting here is that we don't really know until the end if they are truly sincere to each other.
But the end is, again, really predictable about this part. I was also disappointed because I thought I would have seen more action and fights. Of course, there is action but not as many as I would have expected. It's more a movie about manipulation, seduction, outreaching the limits of violence and sexual depravity than an action movie about spying. Nevertheless, the end contains more action than the beginning as Dominika tries to trap the Russian secret services and the C.I.A. to their own game. I would recommend giving a particular attention at this moment because it's difficult to understand fully the plot if you don't pay attention (true story).

enter image description here

Conclusion:

Even if it is not the best movie I have seen of spying, I found it interesting and pleasant to see for a cinema night out. I deplore the obvious scheme for the romantic relationship, but I enjoyed the manipulations and plots which were unexpected and well-constructed. To end with a little touch of humor, I recommend you not to see it with a date you just met since the sex scenes could settle a little discomfort situation! Take it as a piece of advice or leave it!

Click here to see the trailer

Sort:  

I HAVE SEEN THE TRAILER IN NEWS AND I WILL TRY TO WATCH IT ;)

I was going to give this one a miss the trailer didnt really do it for me. Thanks for giving a solid review on both the pros and cons of the movie, from what you say its worth checking out.

Also the current line up of films out isn't that great so i guess this is the best of what is available right now

No problem! Hope you have a great time with this movie :D

omggg, been waiting for this :D FINALLY

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

it seems amazing movie I will make my effort to watch it

Congratulations @penguins.nation, this post is the second most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Dust account holder (accounts that hold between 0 and 0.01 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by Dust account holders during this period was 12131 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $1467.57. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

This post has been upvoted and picked by Daily Picked #10! Thank you for the cool and quality content. Keep going!

Don’t forget I’m not a robot. I explore, read, upvote and share manually :)

I want to check this out. I'm going to wait for home video though. There are too many good movies coming down the pipeline. T.V. has some awesome things happening too. I've been watching Homeland and the latest season is awesome! They've had some hits and miss seasons and the latest one is a hit!

Thanks for the recommendation! I will try to watch it ;)

I watched and reviewed it too :)

But I didn’t like it.

She never quite made it to America, just their embassy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70884.24
ETH 3570.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76