MY BEST FRIEND'S WEDDING -MOVIE REVIEW

in #movie6 years ago

Good morning everyone and welcome to my blog. I have decided to start doing movie review at least once every week. This was inspired by @afolwalex although his movie review is all Hollywood and @oredebby as she is the one making me toll this direction. @oredebby has a show she titles, "movie night with oredebby" on the steemit block chain where she makes us watch a particular movie and we talk about it on a live show on stach discord server.

Last week we talked about a movie titled, "Finding Mercy" and I thought the script was terrible from her story telling and so I decided to watch and do my own analysis of the movie. If you want to know what I thought about it, see Finding Mercy

Yvonne-Jegede-Nollywood-Pulse.jpg
Source

Today I will be reviewing the movie titled "My Best Friend's Wedding". This is a 2018 Nollywood movie produced by Chinneylove Eze. For a new producer in the Hollywood movie industry, she did such a fantastic job with this movie I must say. Shot in the state of Lagos, Nigeria, My Best friend's wedding is a drama with just four (4) casts. Isn't that interesting? You do not need to have so many casts to deliver, this movie had just four casts that knows what it means to be a professional actor. The movie is 120 minutes long and had Yvonne Jegede as the lead actress where she acted as Naomi. Other casts are;

  • Benjamin Joseph as Anthony
  • Helen Odigue as Belinda
  • Nosa Rex as Jeffery.

The scenes of the movie were mostly interior scenes with a perfect ambient light and the camera placed at the right angle setting the right colour and tone for each scenes. The make up artist did a great job well except on the night of the double date where Belinda (Helen Odigue) was made to wear a very heavy makeup which did no justice to her beauty. Apart from that, the make up was top notch on every other scenes especially at night and at home where their faces were left with no make-up to make it believable unlike some other Nollywood movies. The costumes were casuals where need be and home wears where the need arose. Well tailored and fitted perfectly with the fashion sense of 2018. Sound track was amazing. Oh my goodness, I loved them all. Each scene had a perfect soundtrack and it helped illustrate the mood of each scene.

PLOT

My Best Friend's Wedding is a story of two childhood friends who have been friends for 20 years. One of them, Naomi (Yvonne Jegede) just got engaged to her heartthrob Anthony (Benjamin Joseph) and so there is a wedding to plan and who else to plan it with if not her best friend forever; Belinda (Helen Odigue). Belinda comes flying into Lagos from Abuja excited to plan her best friend's wedding but her past came calling. Turns out Nana's( as she fondly calls her) fiance is the same Tee(as she fondly calls him) who she dated for 2 years and he broke her heart. Would she tell her friend? Would she stop the wedding? Do they still love each other?

My-Best-Friend-s-Wedding-Pulse.jpg
Source
The actors were very professional. They made each scene very believable. The scriptwriter did an excellent job as it was suspense filled and keeps you at the edge of your cushion. The actors delivered and were so real. The love scenes were perfectly acted and the tears were real. However, the only scene I had a problem with was the scene were Anthony (Benjamin Joseph) had to come look for Belinda(Helen Odigue) in Naomi's house and she had to made him hide when Naomi suddenly appeared looking for her purse. That scene wasn't very real and this is why I say so;

  1. Anthony doesn't need to hide. It is his girlfriend's house and they could have come up with an excuse of I came to see Belinda to make sure she is okay since she was acting weird last night being the first time she saw me. As your best friend, I want to be sure she is comfortable with me since I am about to marry you. I could have told you but I wanted to do this myself so she would be comfortable.

  2. Belinda helping Naomi to find her purse and making her sit down to munch on some calories which she has been fighting her over so she wouldn't see where Anthony is hiding was off. Anthony wasn't hiding in the Room. Naomi could have easily walked into the room picked up her purse and left

OR
They could have had that conversation on phone to save the awkwardness of having to hide him in his soon to be wife's house. I didn't even see where he hid.

Well these are my personal opinion but apart from that scene every other scene was beautifully acted. Please permit me to mention some scenes that did it for me.

  1. The first time Belinda met up with Naomi. They made friendship look so beautiful. Looking at them, you would actually believe they have been friends for 20 years. They understood each other, know how to communicate without words and loved each other genuinely. It was beautiful, it was perfect and this is why it hurt so much at the later end of the film when everything fell apart. The way they looked at for each other and kissed and laughed made it so heart wrenching that it had to end the way it did. I cried.

  2. The night of bridal shower, oh my goodness. The script writer deserves an award for that scene. That was a well thought out scene. Kidnapping the bride to be like that was so top notch for the nollywood industry. I loved it.

  3. The night before the wedding. That scene and everything that happened was so believable. Naomi overdid herself.

Ordinarily, one would predict this movie would end with the bride finding out about the affair and threatening to call off the wedding and then a pity party organised to beg her not to change her mind then wrap it off with a happy wedding but no, the director had a plot twist and it made the movie a great movie to watch.

I am not a fan of Nollywood movies but if I say you need to see this movie, then you need to see this movie. It's a lovely movie and you would enjoy watching it and oh, take a handkerchief along, there are some few wet scenes...lol

Until I come your way again with another movie,

I remain yours sincerely,

@zyzymena

Sort:  

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 11 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 6 SBD worth and should receive 126 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

This is nice.. When I start watching Nollywood movies again, this is the first movie I will see.

You are welcome to the "movie review" club.

Thank you so much @afolwalex

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66269.58
ETH 3204.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.24