Hanna - Movie Review

in #movies6 years ago (edited)

Hanna is the first film I can remember starring Saoirse Ronan. It was a breakout film for the young actress, allowing her to carry a thriller film while still a teen. My wife and I first saw this film at the theater. It was a film worth watching in that format and remains a film worth streaming if you can find it.

We are introduced to our heroine, Hanna (Saoirse Ronan) in a Winter wood. She is hunting a reindeer, which she deftly disposes of, barely missing his heart with an arrow, but finishing the job with a pistol. While we are trying to determine the setting, we hear a male voice declare "you are dead" before a fight ensues. Hanna is in training. The voice is her father, Erik (Eric Bana). They live in a remote cabin, hunt their own food, and read the encyclopedia as part of Hanna's training. The mission is unknown. But it is clear that the agile sixteen-year-old possesses a deadly skill set.

Hanna understands that her training has an end game but doesn't fully understand where she is going. Her mother was murdered when she was a child and her memories seem confined to her cabin in the woods. As she begins to express her need to broaden her horizons and move forward, her father offers her the choice, which she takes. The decision sets the wheels in motion for a showdown with a secret agency. Hanna watches as her father departs into the woods, leaving her to await the arrival of the real world.

Hanna is whisked away to an underground laboratory, where she is questioned and filmed. She seems to possess a mission, but the end game remains elusive. Her ability to assess and reassess her situation allows her to exploit the opportunity to escape and discover that she is in Morocco. She must make her way to Berlin, where she has plans to meet her father. In the meantime, she is hunted. The agency she escaped from has a vindictive agent, Marissa (Cate Blanchett), who will not rest until Hanna is captured or killed. Hanna is running for her life, while the undercurrent of her story slowly surfaces.

Hanna has a graphic novel feel. It also feels like a sequel, so a subsequent film may have originally been in the cards. The screenplay was a product of writers Seth Lockhead and David Farr. The pair did a great job of creating intriguing characters and an interesting approach. We are dropped into the middle of the action, which maintains a steady heartbeat from beginning until end. The ending (down to the closing line) was somewhat predictable, but the journey was a fun trip. While the film didn't have incredible twists like most thrillers, it was a pulsing film that moves with dexterity. The dialogue was sharp and included sub-titles as several languages were spoken throughout the film. Kudos to Lockhead and Farr for creating an interesting new character and a thriller that has plenty of originality to offer. The screenplay was been around since at least 2006...so it took quite a few years to hit theaters.

The action and writing were carefully constructed alongside an industrial soundtrack that gave the movie and edgy feel. The soundtrack, by the Chemical Brothers, was brilliant. The film helped create a mood and tension that moved seamlessly with the progression of the film. The soundtrack never overtook the film but was notable enough on its own to grasp my attention. I was impressed with the warmth, cold and emotion that the music was able to add to the story. Nicely done.

Prior to my original viewing of this film, I knew nothing about Ronan. I did see her in City of Ember, which I know I enjoyed, but barely remember now. In checking out that review, I recall that I enjoyed her performance. She has arrived. I may have enjoyed City of Ember, but her performance in Hanna required much more skill. From fight sequences to an awkward innocence, the child/killer gained credibility through Ronan's performance. Bana was excellent as Erik, but we don't see much of him after the opening sequence. We see much more of Blanchett, who was fun to watch as a vengeful witch. I am not certain if it was intended, but it seemed to me that her accent changed from time to time in the film. Either way, the performances were excellent.

Hanna gets a PG-13 from the MPAA. The rating is a product of the violence. The film has some mild sexuality and strong language, which add to the rating. But the fight sequences and violence were enough to earn the rating alone. The sequences are tense and well choreographed. While there is plenty of killing, the gore factor is kept to a minimum, which likely kept this film from slipping into R territory. I don't think I would limit this film by age. It just isn't that objectionable. This film has a run time of one hour, 51 minutes.

Hanna was a treat. While this film was predictable, it had incredible pacing, great acting, strong dialogue, incredible fight sequences and an awesome soundtrack. It was also visually stunning. With all of the positive aspects going for it, the predictability factor is forgivable. It was an entertaining, action-packed film. Recommended with a 7.5/10.

Trailer and images subject to copyright.

Sort:  

I remember that I also loved this movie. Really well made

I remember watching this film for the first time and it was the first that I got so interested in the actress. She became my favorite and none of my social circle even knew her because the movie wasn't popular in my country.

I agree with you on the moving being worthwhile to watch. It's movies where the lead relies heavily on observation and intuition to act that I enjoy most. This movie will not disappoint for people that enjoy action, and thrillers. :D

Hi coldsteem,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

I really enjoyed this film too- and I think, for me, this was mostly down to discovering Saoirse Ronan- there's something incredibly captivating about her as a performer, and this was quite a tricky character to get right- and I felt she captured it brilliantly.

The only thing I don't agree with you in is the soundtrack. I was also wowed by in in its own right, but I found that it overwhelmed the film in several places, rather than enhancing it.

Fantastic review, really enjoyed reading it!
E x

I usually don't want to notice a soundtrack. But sometimes I like it when I do. Particularly in films like Ready Player One or Guardians where the soundtrack is such an embedded part of the story. Thanks for stopping by.

I love Saoirse Ronan, I think she's extremely brilliant in this film, especially because she was so young at the time, Cate Blanchett is also at her usual best. I wish there were more action movies like this

You've so well taken me through it.
Hanna at 16,finding herself in a hunting ground, for meat with dad, realizes she is also a prisoner,and she wisely escapes.

Am in love with movies of young wise stars who struggle and overcome systems, yet not even because of having unique abilities.

This reminds me of the maze runner, where young boys were detained in a complicated system for long, but finally wisely broke out.
Thanks.

I haven't seen this one! I shall take your recommendation in mind next time I am looking for something to watch!

I find it interesting what you say about predictability and twists. Surely it is an interesting twist that a movie could be so unabashedly straightforward! I seriously find it funny sometimes to see some of these thriller twist themselves in knots.

Thanks for not spoiling anything!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70181.59
ETH 3549.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.74