Music Videos and Diddly Diddios

in #movies5 years ago

f5e4adad-199f-4eb3-b2de-6faf6a6b1b13.jpeg

d1ddf967-a762-48b0-9999-44ef05bafe0d.jpeg

3ec486d2-2758-4bbb-8b56-61eba88c827f.jpeg

f88706e1-c1e3-4fc3-985a-f5ae2cb5fd0d.jpeg

2a632020-2156-4165-9100-5024f5200b9e.jpeg

1576707f-25ac-463f-b315-b70e8336be6a.jpeg

b002bb94-a4cf-4534-9e93-85435609d9ef.jpeg


Hey everybody!

Just a quick aside from the usual Changelings updates.

I had the opportunity to help a friend out with his music video yesterday. We got to shoot on Hawk anamorphic lenses! They resolve a beautiful image but don’t flare as much as some of their other models.

Since it was a personal project, the crew was very small, but it was nice. Just friends making movies together. It’s what I like, and if I ever get to make a bigger film, I’d like it to feel somewhat like this did. Though I know the crew would have to increase, I much prefer working with people I know.

I’ve worked on quite a few sets, big and small, and none of them are as enjoyable as a small crew with friends. The bigger they grow, the impersonal they become.

Anyway, the house we were shooting at was a marvelous mishmash of contemporary art and domestic life. Everything was white tile or stone, hard angles and glass. It was quite beautiful, if a little cluttered.

We were shooting some simple visual effect shots, all practical. We used rubber hoses as electrical wires that were coming to life. We would shoot them being pulled off our actor’s limbs. When played back in reverse they will whip and wrap themselves around them.

Another, fun practical effect we shot was the light emanating from out lead’s hands. We used a tiny, remotely controlled strip of LED lights that were taped to the palm of his right hand. The effect is simple, but good looking.

Finally, we also used a Keslow, motion control unit on a long track to do a time lapse dolly move. As the camera shot one frame ever few seconds the camera would inch along, creating a “real time” dolly move with a time lapse. It’s a fun, engaging effect, perfect for music videos.

That’s it for now. I have some significant updates about Changelings coming soon.

Phil


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot IPFS IOS Android Web
Sort:  

Hey. I saw you comment on my post.. I was wondering seeing the photos..... Could you look at my content? I mean the videos i make.
Honestly... Do you think you could help with stuff? I dunno. Advice or a contact. I have very basic knowledge of video and audio editing (I record on a blue yeti and Xiaomi phone) and i think i could do well beyond Steem with the right guidance. You seem to have experience.
Im a deputy concert master violinist in Croatian National theatre, graduated top of my class on Zagreb Musical academy and i sing. I want to make that into a brand but i dont know how.

.... is there a way to step into the world of youtube musicians, video creators, managers etc... that you might have a insight in?

I know this is strange to ask, just so you know. :D haha

Sure. Gimme a little time though. I won’t be able to have a thorough look until this evening.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congratulations @distantsignal! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 20000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 25000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62062.59
ETH 3002.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77