Downsizing 2017: the ultimate commitment to own’s faith

in #movies5 years ago (edited)


The film Downsizing was on my list, but somehow I didn’t have a chance to watch this movie. A few days ago, I found this film on Netflix, so I watched it. I could easily concentrate on the movie. Overall, this movie is fun to watch.


The Reasons to Go Downsizing

So, why do we have to go downsizing? In the movie Downsizing, there are two reasons to go downsizing; first, the earth cannot stand the human population and the human’s environmental effects, which will only lead to the extinction of the human race; second, by downsizing the cost of living would be drastically reduced, which means you can have a luxurious life without working too hard.

Paul Safranek’s Reason for Downsizing

An occupational therapist, Paul Safranek(Matt Damon), chose to undergo downsizing because of the real problem, not because of contributing to the human race. He had a good job but didn’t have a materially abundant life. Finance was always a huge concern in his life just like all of us. So, Paul decided to undergo downsizing to have a financially better life.

Dr. Jorgen’s Commitment to His Faith

What about Dr. Jorgen, who found the way of downsizing? In the last scene of the movie, Dr. Jorgen said that not enough people had chosen to downsize to stop the catastrophe. Therefore, the extinction of humanity is inevitable. Dr. Jorgen and his followers had prepared an underground facility where they could survive long enough to escape the disaster just like Noah in the bible.

I was amazed by their commitment to their own faith. For their faith, they reduced their body, which I personally think is almost everything to the meaning of their being. It is a perfect commitment to own’s faith.

Could I commit my life to my faith? I have faith, in other words, worldview or perspective. Then, I lead my life only according to my faith. Not at all! There are a lot of compromises because of the problems in real life, mostly financial ones or my own desires. I can’t fully commit to my faith. Can you? I was amazed by the commitment of Dr. Jorgen. Even it was in the movie.



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://flicktaste.net/2019/08/13/downsizing/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63517.53
ETH 3062.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81