A simple plan (film): fantastic movie many skipped

in #movies5 years ago (edited)

I've been thinking a lot about Billy Bob Thornton lately because I am watching season 1 of Fargo and am still in awe at how someone as small as Thornton could be so intimidating. I mean, he really nails it. I hadn't really ever paid the man much attention but he is a really fantastic actor. Enter A Simple Plan

4XsYxDV5I2cIghLpBL3pUsprH0N.jpg

This movie lost money and I suppose we are going to have to chalk that up to how difficult it could be to market a film like this. It is tough to make it look exciting without giving away crucial plot details.

Basically, a group of friends (two of which are brothers) who live simple lives and are for the most part quite content with continuing to do so in rural Minnesota stumble upon a plane crash that contains a butt-ton of money. Rather than turn it in to the authorities they decide to hide it and keep it for themselves.

FTS A Simple Plan.jpg

The plan, laid out by Hank Mitchel (Bill Paxton) who is one of the only college graduates in the community seems.... simple. However, it wouldn't be much of a movie if they just waited a while and then got away with the money with no repercussions. Much like any movie with a similar plot, things go wrong... mo money mo problems so to speak.

There is something about Bill Paxton's acting in really anything that gets under my skin so it should come as no surprise that I suggest that Thornton's portrayal of Jacob Mitchell, Hank's brother, really steals the show.

a-simple-plan.png

He invokes genuine emotion in the viewer as he plays a socially awkward simpleton of sorts that has relied on his brother for guidance pretty much his entire life. You will appreciate his involvement in this movie... fo sho.

Trailer is a bit long but it does a good job of not revealing too much. Overall, this movie is perhaps a bit predictable, but Billy Bob's endearing portrayal of Jacob is all the reason you really need to watch this. So this isn't exactly an epic film, but it is good. It is entertaining and also it is realistic as to how money can change people, especially ill-gotten gains like this. I can't believe that this movie ended up losing money because as Paxton goes, it is one of his less-crap performances.

7 / 10

Sort:  

Same story for me. I really like Billy Bob Thornton in Fargo.
I've never seen this movie, interesting choice.
I would love to see more of him, hopefully more series on Netflix.

did you know that this article sat there for a day with "simple" spelled wrong and no one caught that? :P

I didn't know that. :)

For lovers of the seventh art it is wonderful to enjoy this type of film. A jewel an elegance greetings and my respects my support with my vote.

Watched this movie. Kept me interested till the end with excellent acting and plot twists.
Can’t believe it didn’t make money

Great movie it must have look like. It seems like it will seems like supernatural

I think billy is a under appreciated actor he has talent I just think his selecting of projects and roles have been a little hit and miss throughout his career! Which has done him a disservice! His been pretty good in Fargo like you said so I think I’ll give this one a shot!

Posted using Partiko iOS

According to the policy of steemit that prevent copying and re-publication of the content , someone has violated the law right now.
A siple plan (film): fantastic movie many skipped


















































Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70887.21
ETH 3581.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75