Spiderman: Homecoming - I didn't like it

in #movies5 years ago (edited)

To be honest, i don't just not like this movie very much but I also don't really like the re-invented Peter Parker. I'm not really sure what they are going for with this but it doesn't appeal to me. No offense to Marvel fanbois out there.


source

This movie has been around since 2017, but like a lot of the cinematic features that happened in the past decade it slipped past me without me even knowing. Maybe it is because I don't like it when superheros become too whimsical, but the prankster, almost whiny and overly cartoonish portrayal of Spiderman just kind of annoys me.

If you aren't familiar with the film this is the 2nd reboot of the Spiderman franchise. Although I didn't much care for the 1st reboot either I did enjoy how they tried to make it a bit dark and more serious. This film is a superhero film, so the backstory isn't really necessary and spoiler alert! Spiderman wins in the end.

MV5BYzk0NDQzZDctOWMzMi00YTUxLWE3ZDUtMGQxZWYxMmI1Nzk4L2ltYWdlL2ltYWdlXkEyXkFqcGdeQXVyMjM1NjkwMDI@._V1_.jpg
source
the boat was split in half, it would have sank anyway

Although i realize it is simply a personal preference of mine as to why I didn't enjoy this film I also understand that Marvel probably doesn't view me as their primary demographic and it is important to them to appeal to the most youthful audience as possible for the sake of merchandising and maintaining the ability to continue to have reboots galore. Therefore, from a business perspective I can completely understand why they would do this.

On the plus side, Michael Keaton's portrayal of Vulture was really really good.

0 AOC7ccOObMPEOoca.jpg
source

If you look at professional reviews of the film their opines are rather divided; some loved it, others not so much. However, everyone agrees that Keaton was fantastic and I quite enjoyed the character as well and hope to see him again in future films.

The film that managed to go global without me even knowing it existed until nearly 2 years after its release managed to pull in nearly $900 million on a budget of $175 million. Pretty impressive but I am starting to feel like this is "par for the course" as far as Marvel features are concerned.

On a scale of "Urgh!" to "Wowsers!" I give Spiderman: Homecoming a score of....

"Mildly meh!"

Sort:  

$175 million to pull off $900 is pretty impressive for a movie that didn't hit the ground running in my opinion, I think it isn't really bad but Tobey McGuire's early 2000s Spiderman series was definitely the best, but the fact that people agree that Michael Keaton's portrayal of vulture is a consensus approval, makes the movie a mild pass. So homecoming for me , not bad but not really a head turner

nice response... that should have been my TL;DR. good job!

Obviously, thanks for the amazing content too as always

I only watched it so I could be caught up for the other Marvel movies that were coming out. Really I could have skipped it and I wouldn't have missed much. Besides some of the background of Peter that came into play for Infinity War. I didn't think it was horrible but where I found Tony Stark awesome in the first Iron Man, the character is kind of getting annoying. I think it makes sense that they probably aren't going to be moving forward with much more of him in the future. Meanwhile they already have the next Spiderman movie slated I think ("Far from Home" maybe).

that would make sense seeing as how it is the opposite of homecoming

Anyone else feel like all of these remake films like Spiderman, Superman are such a cliche and becomes more and more boring to watch the same story over and over again? Is like the creators are falling short of inspiration...

indeed, but if the public keeps rewarding them with 500 million plus per film, why would they ever change :) ?

TBH I liked Spiderman better when it was Tobey Maguire. Ever since then they keep trying to reinvent the wheel and it's not working.

"but the prankster, almost whiny and overly cartoonish portrayal of Spiderman just kind of annoys me."

Watched the trailer, I agree. He looks basically like Deadpool.

I really liked the parker in the 1dt reboot better and my wife did as well. He does ok in the movies and with the latest avengers movie can see why they chose to go with a different peter, but wondering when the bigger names are getting replaced as I would assume some of them are tired of playing the same part over and over.

Posted using Partiko Android

Spiderman movies are not what they used to be. This new ones are just computer graphic and little acting and story!

yeah well, that is what makes 600 mill a film so I wouldn't expect this formula to change anytime soon.

Hahaha the rating game is strong buddy!
Keep going

Posted using Partiko Android

spiderman is my favorite film as a child

Sup Dork! Enjoy the upvote!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70446.49
ETH 3571.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73