True Story (film): A pretty decent thriller

in #movies5 years ago

I can always gauge if a movie is worth watching based on if it can hold my interest even if i am tired. It was late last night and I had already had 2 large beers which is normally a recipe for "not gonna finish that movie!" but I finished this one and stayed interested the entire way through.

true-story-55c025c3027e7.jpg
source

I don't know if many other people feel this way, but I actually believe the Jonah Hill and James Franco are two of the best young(ish) actors that Hollywood has to offer right now. Plus I really admire how Hill is able to manipulate his weight although I think that a bit fat might be his default state.


source

Without revealing too much of the story I'll just say that Jonah Hill plays New York Times journalist Michael Finkel who has luck would have it ends up being disgraced for producing "fake news." Right about the time that Finkel is trying to regroup and put his life back together, he is contacted to be made aware of the fact that a murderer on the FBI's most wanted list was arrested in Mexico and for the entire time he was on the run he had assumed the life of Finkel; traveling under his name and assuming the alias of "New York Times reporter."

The two of them end up meeting and Christian Longo (played by James Franco) ends up confiding in Finkel, stating he really admires his writing and wants to confide in him and give him exclusive access to his story. In exchange, Finkel has to teach him how to write. Sounds boring right? Well, it isn't.

This movie was able to pass most of us by without us even noticing, probably because there is no CGI or superheros in it. It was a Sundance Film Festival selection and had only limited release in theaters in 2015. It is not on Netflix and I actually don't have any idea how long it has been there. I personally feel as though Hill and Franco both give stellar performances in this title and the story is compelling enough to hold your attention for the 90 minutes or so.

I think this movie is best for people who don't need a bunch of action, but also enjoy a somewhat creepy film that keeps you guessing about what is going to happen next. The fact that it is based on true events (I don't really know how close it is to the real story) simply makes it more interesting for people like me.

On a scale of "Urgh!" to "Wowsers!" I give True Story an overall score of.....


tumblr_nvsv177bFA1uitzhdo1_400.jpg

Sort:  

You're making my job easier. I don't want to scroll lists to find a movie 😄
This looks pretty interesting to me, so I'm going to give it a try. Thanks for the review!

Deep film based in trie story.. great recommendation

Posted using Partiko Android

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

The plot does sound pretty interesting. I have a friend that will get bored if movies don't have enough action in them, but not me. I might have to check this one out when I get a chance. Plus if you liked it, it has to be pretty decent!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61388.48
ETH 2984.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65