Is the movie Kick-Ass Kick Ass? ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

in #movies6 years ago


image.png

Been wanting to watch this movie for a while, just never was on the top of my list. I finally got around to seeing it last night. I am not really sure how I feel about it. I'm left a bit confused.

Was it a bad movie? I don't think so.
Was it great? No
Did I like it? I think so...

I'm all for movies that are freaking way out there, and just crazy. Unique is good.

Kick-Ass is a super hero movie, but not the superheroes you see from Marvel, think more Saturday Night Live. The movie reminds a bit of the old movie Mystery Men.

I don't want to spoil much about the movie, but it's exactly what I expected but just a bit weirder. I didn't know Nicolas Cage was in the movie and I didn't know the main hero was so young. It makes the movie a bit crazy but entertaining.

image.png

image.png

I can only assume the movie was inspired by a comic book as it has a lot of comic book references and some cool comic book styling in some scenes.

The movie came out in 2010 and was followed up with Kick-Ass 2 in 2013. I'm not really into comics but I have been trying to read the Deadpool ones, makes me want to check out the Kick-Ass ones to just see what it is like.

The movie is produced by the same company behind Kingsmen, so you know it will get weird. If any of this sounds interesting, give it a watch.

There are talks that KIck-Ass 3 and Hit Girl Movie will be making it to Netflix (who now knows the rights).

I plan on watching Kick-Ass 2 soon.

You seen either? What you think?

All images property of Marv Films

Sort:  

If Nicholas cage is there, them he'd have to be humorous, I don't think Nicholas cage can take on a humorous role, he's always up for the action movie,
But I think this kick as is more of comedy than super hero lol, from what I've seen and know.

Amazing so when do you plan to sew the 2nd part of kick ass?

Might watch it tonight if I have time.

Might as well do another review it may be different you know?

the film is based mostly on ben stiller is a super hero who has an extraordinary strength and it turns out that a fraud has no power .. the movie is entertaining there are some things that make you laugh .. the rest is very fanciful. .
I recommend a movie is something old but it's good .. it's called "the pianist" the movie is about drama and motivation.

i don't really know how many enjoy this kind of movie not my thing thou

Oh I thought Kick-Ass was awesome, cool soundtrack too.

It is action, but very tongue in cheek, nicely balanced and it's the strangest concept for a "feel-good" movie I ever came across...But somehow it achieves just that.

BUT, as you already stated "Marvel it ain't", ironically, despite the tag. If you press play expecting that, based on the recent Marvel multiverse, you will very possibly be disappointed.

What I love most about it, personally, is that it manages to retain a certain cultish feel to it although it was a major movie.

I guess the point is though, that movies, (just like other peoples kids) are very subjective entities.

Thanks for reminding me of this gem, twas not what I was expecting, but I enjoyed it all the same and may give it another watch :)

Keep Steemin' on and have an awesome day.

Image courtesy of the AWESOMETASTICAL Pixabay.

I saw both parts of kick-ass. I liked action scenes of that small girl.in part 1 we will see nicholas cage and in 2nd part we see jim carey.
The movie looks like created for children, this is what i got after watching it. It could be good to nicholas cage and jim carey if they were not acted in this.this is because, they are great actors its unnecessary to act in this type of movies. For me both parts are "AVERAGE " to me.

It is suppose to be weird and out there kind of like Scott Pilgrim movie.

Oh no i didnt watched scott pilgrim movie

I loved Hit Girl and and Nic Cage was good also. I enjoyed Kick-Ass. I agree that it is reminiscent of Mystery Men only with more edge.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70734.57
ETH 3561.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75