PROUD MARY (A SHORT REVIEW)

in #movies6 years ago

p2yv3fsm04.png
Source

I love the substance Proud Mary is made of. It's a passionate action movie, it's different from the regular action movie that I've seen. Though I was a little bit, no,not a little bit.. I was hugely dissappointed when I didn't see the action I saw in the trailer, I was however smitten by the story and the passionate performances of Taraji Henson and the teenage boy Jahi Di'Allo Winston.

Mary played by Taraji is an expert assassin, that spent her entire life working for a top ruthless family. When a hit got wrong, she had to do everything to save the boy, Danny whom she orphaned during one of her hits.

Danny is a smart boy that had to live in the streets to survive after the death of his father, he started working for a criminal named uncle but Mary still kept a close eye on him. Danny's character will definitely have an effect on your emotions. Seeing a good looking teenage boy involved in crime is definitely not a pleasant sight but Jahi's performance was top notch. His character is smart, resilient and passionate with a foul mouth though. His character will leave you sympathetic and emotional.

Mary is definitely a tough passionate cookie.. But unlike a typical assassin, she has a conscience atleast it made her go after Danny after killing his father. Seeing Taraji play Mary was really exciting as she is a talented actress. One thing I love about her character is determination, she might not be a typical assassin but she definitely got the job done.

I can't say that I enjoyed the direction of Babak Najafi because I expected more from a crime/thriller movie. Maybe because the trailer offered more action than the movie itself and my expectations were cut short. But I must confess that I enjoyed the performances of the actors, they were not given much but they did a great job with what they have. Also the ending was way to easy, I expected more, like lots of gun fire, physical combat but it looked like the movie was rushed, there were lots of holes and the only thing I enjoyed was the relationship between the boy and Mary and their performances.

I will rate this movie a 4/10..

Have you seen Proud Mary? What do you think?

Thanks for reading..
zmsfx47icu.png
It's the one and only @nmalove

Sort:  

Quite interesting, Thanks for sharing with us @nmalove

Thanks for stopping by

Welcome friend

I didn't like the film much. It was poorly scripted but I like Taraji so that helped it along and made it easy to swallow. #bigwaves

Taraji made it easier to watch.. Thanks for stopping by.

This sounds like an interesting movie. I would try and get it on my PC to watch. Stay awesome @nmalove

Posted using Partiko Android

Yea, Thanks for reading..

Alright @nmalove. You're welcome

Posted using Partiko Android

I saw the movie "Proud Mary" two days back. Well I didn't expect much from Taraji playing the role of an assassin but I was surprised that she did a good Job playing that role. However, like you said the end part had lose ends it was just too easy especially the last encounter between Mary and Tom(maybe Tom was carried away because he once had a love relationship with mary) maybe the power of a woman played out here. TOM didn't take the shot at Mary when she went to rescued Danny even when he had the right to take the shot. So what will you expect a man to do for a woman he still loves. I will score this movie 5/10. I think Taraji is creating her landmark in Hollywood I also discovered she directed the movie if I am not mistaking. Thanks @nmalove for making this review on Proud Mary

Thanks for reading.. The movie had so many loop holes.. It was lacking in action, but Taraji is a good actor though..

Maybe because the trailer offered more action than the movie itself

Let's be honest, that movie was shit! Too many frequent pauses and stares with no words. Almost felt awkward. -Pan

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 63997.36
ETH 3133.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15