Action Movie Cliches That Make You Wanna Facepalm (Part I)

in #movies6 years ago

0.jpg

I have mentioned a lot of times in my past articles that I simply love the action movie genre and I simply can't have enough of them. But there is also a side effect of that.

I have watched enough action movies to know that there are a bunch of cliches that almost all of them use and after a point it starts getting annoying and highly predictable that makes you want to facepalm yourself.

I am sure you all must have noticed these as well. Although I love action movies, I need to call a spade, a spade and there are some overly used cliches that need to be retired now.

In this post I'm going to talk about some of those cliches which I'm sure must have made you cringe at some point as well.

Why Don't All Henchmen Attack At Once?

One of the most common fight scenes is the hero getting surrounded by a bunch of henchmen after which there is an epic fight sequence where the hero beats the living heck out of all of them.

But, he is only able to do so because the henchmen are kind enough to come at him one by one and this is where I start to roll my eyes. In a real life fight, all those henchmen would attack the hero at the same time, ending the fight in less than 10 seconds!

Looks like teamwork is something that our bad guys simply don't teach their minions in the movies. Either that or they are all plain stupid to go at the hero one by one.

Guns vs Fists

This is one of the dumbest things in action movies. Somehow, the hero, who is unarmed, is able to take down a few bad guys with guns. And all he has to do is engage them in close combat.

The bad guys come out as really stupid as all it would take is a single shot at the hero to end it all and yet, they decide that guns are too mainstream and they should use their fists instead.

Exaggerated Explosions

Of course we all know that a movie is not an accurate depiction of real life and that's what makes them fun. But I think there should be a hint of realism nonetheless.

The explosions we see in movies, are hyper unrealistic. Cars collide with each other, and boom, explosion. Car falls of a cliff - explosion. The bad guy throws a lighted cigarette into a pool of gasoline and explosion.

It's not that easy to make things explode, or we would be seeing them everywhere and everytime we went out of the house. Even the resultant explosions are highly exagerrated and cause a shockwave that send everyone flying.

Sort:  

yes that how fantasy factor work at the bottom of heart everyone wants the same scenes to watch that why all these movies share common scenes.

Yup, audience wants to get wowed, I guess.

Ha ha Sourav Dada what a pleasant reply!!!
Heartly Congratulation for Durgapuja / Navaratri!!!!

Happy Navaratri to you too :)

When you become a screenwriter you will then understand. Till then enjoy the film for what it is worth...

I don't want to become one lol. Anyways, I understand why these things are done. It's just that sometimes it can seem too repetitive.

Do you really? Do you also understand that once the writer creates a piece of work the director has the final say in it? They also can manipulate the work. It is not any different that selling a piece of furniture. Once someone buys it they can do what ever they want with it and often the writer catches blame for what the director does. To truly understand you have to work in that field and I feel your thinking is losing itself between the "gap" between what is really going on. In the example of looking at one extreme over another...

That's great and I understand what you are saying; however, there is hard work in it, and this field is one of the most difficult fields to break into.It is unfortunate the directors and productions will manipulate the screenplays after they are sold.

The big lesson here is people have choices to not watch things just as much as those who have choices to write. While I respect your words and thoughts; understand there are different levels in that marketplace that drive control away from the writer.

It is the sad part of things. Another reason for audience frustration is the way screenwriting is taught and how it is "templated" they use canned systems in writing that create the cliches. I do feel your pain, and understand there are some interesting avenues that you would appreciate if you knew more; hence, why I am sharing. Have an amazing day. I wish you nothing but prosperity my friend. Enjoy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64014.44
ETH 3064.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86