Skyscraper [2018] movie review

in #movies5 years ago (edited)

I recently discovered that I have seen a whole lot of movies starring Dwayne Johnson. It is not because I am a big fan of him, but somehow, I have still ended up watching a lot of his movies recently.
Dwayne Johnson in Skyscraper

For that reason, you can expect reviews of other Dwayne Johnson movies in the near future, for example, a Rampage review, Jumanji: Welcome to the Jungle review, a San Andreas review, a GI Joe review, and I have already written a Baywatch review. So, if you are a Dwayne Johnson fan, or maybe you do not like him at all, you all got something to look forward to!

What about Skyscraper?

As I saw the trailers for Skyscraper I thought - NEVER! This is just one crazy movie in which we can see some incredible stunts (that are way too crazy to be true), and not a movie I want to watch. But, then I watched the Baywatch movie and was positively surprised, and when Skyscraper kind of jumped at me one day, I thought I should give it a try.

Dwayne Johnson plays the role of a former FBI agent who is an expert when it comes to the security of buildings. He has just overlooked the biggest skyscraper in the world, and he has even got a flat for himself and his family in the upper part of the building. Security is top, but then there are some bad guys who decide to try to destroy it all. Why? We are not told at the start of the movie (and I will not spoil the fun here), but Dwayne Johnson is forced to do something as his family is stuck in the buildings when the terrorists start to put the entire building on fire.

This is a typical plot for such movies, and someone has accused it of being very similar to the first Die Hard movie. That might be, but I really enjoyed that Die Hard movie, so if it is similar, that doesn't cause much trouble for me.

How did I like Skyscraper?

I like it when there are crazy stunts made up in the sky which makes my palms sweat. It doesn't have to be credible, it just have to make me afraid of being in the same situation, and as a consequence, my heart starts beating faster and I have a good time.

There are a couple of those crazy stunts in this movie, and if you watch the trailer beneath you will quickly understand what I am thinking of.

The movie in itself was quite predictable and it wasn!'t a fantastic movie that I would want to watch again. It might have been similar to Die Hard, but it will never become a classic in the same way Die Hard has become a classic.

If I want to sum it up: Skyscraper is a nice action movie for an evening in which you want to see some crazy stunts and a traditional action story with Dwayne Johnson. I wasn't disappointed with the movie, but I wasn't positively surprised either. I guess this was like eating in McDonalds... you get exactly what you expect.

Skyscraper trailer

Want to see even more what the movie is like and what to expect if you decide to watch Skyscraper? Check the trailer beneath.

Have you seen Skyscraper?

Have you seen the movie? How did you like it? Did you have a good time? I would love to hear your thoughts and feelings about the movie!

Sort:  

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 5 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 4 SBD worth and should receive 252 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94