Sort:  

I can say that I actually enjoy quite a few of those movies. A Clockwerk Orange was particularly brutal for its time and that is probably part of the reason why it is remembered so well... Deliverance was good but mostly remembered (again) for the gruesome scenes - it took ages to get to that part with Norm from Cheers. The Wicker Man is probably my favorite on your list and I think still stands up today and is hands down better than the horrible Nick Cage remake.

You didn't mention The Deer Hunter and I gotta say that this film is remarkably slow... the russian roulette sequence is intense and all but prior to that there is a whole lotta nothing going on.

Nice writeup. I thoroughly enjoyed reading that.

I agree with all your comments on those movies although I must say that I'm not sure if I remember Deliverance because it's brutal. It definitely helps. I love how it changes genres, what starts out as a fun adventure among friends turns into a nightmarish drama.

I never watched the Nick Cage remake of The Wicker Man. Don't know if I ever will.

You didn't mention The Deer Hunter and I gotta say that this film is remarkably slow

I thought of adding a sentence or two on great Vietnam/ war movies but decided against it. The Deer Hunter is a great and indeed very slow movie that I watched a couple of times about 15 to 20 years ago. That russian roulette scene sure is intense.

I guess there are some parallels between movies like The Deer Hunter and Deliverance and probably many 70 movies. There's a certain kind of slowness to them. Then again, these days, most of us lack patience and our attention is all over the place. Because of that I love to get drawn into the almost meditative slowness of the past, to actually have time to breath.

Thanks for the kind words and thoughtful comment. Much appreciated :>)

you can do another article about Vietnam movies from that era. There is more than enough material for an entire blog entry using just that topic.

I could but it’s not necessarily a topic I feel like writing about. I never had to join the army so it feels like something way out of my league/ comfort zone.

Posted using Partiko iOS

those are very good reasons to not do it!

@gooddream I don't understand your comment? The actor who played Norm was in Deliverance? I don't remember that.

it was meant in jest. The actor was Ned Beatty, but really looked like Norm in the film.

Oh, thanks! For a moment I thought I was losing my mind.

Evidence of the success of the 1970s films can be seen in the incessant remakes of films from that era. Some good, some not so good.

I like that thought and am curious what you think are some examples of good remakes from 1970s movies?

This may sound sacrilegious but I like the planet of the apes remakes better than the originals. The first mechanic was ok but the sequel was horrible.

Another classic that was redone quite a while back was The Omega Man. I reviewed it today. early 1970s. It's hard to believe that film is almost fifty!

it’s hard to believe that I’m only 40 ;>)

Yeah I get it and often experience that feeling with many movies that I like. Even Jurassic Park that @inuke and I came to talk about yesterday is already over 25 years old.

I hadn’t heard about the remake of The Omega Man yet :>)

Correction, I Am Legend. The original film was called The Last Man on Earth 1964. I can't recall if I ever watched the original. I think not.

It was the Will Smith film I, Legend. It was a different name. Omega Man was, itself, a remake if I remember correctly.

I've watched all three versions. The Last Man on Earth is great and my favorite Vincent Price film.

I have seen all three versions myself. LMonE might also be my favorite Vincent Price movies. The Omega Man is pretty awesome and I Am Legend was alright but I didn't really find Will Smith a good fit in that movie. I can't help but seeing him as the funny guy from Fresh Prince and Men in Black :>)

I remember watching Picnic at Hanging Rock either in high school or at uni. Think that movie was responsible for birthing the hatred of lack of closure for a few of my classmates 🤣

I should remember seeing more of those than I do as I’m pretty sure I watched some when doing the film units but either haven’t left enough of an impression or I can’t find them (I have indexing issues with my brain 🤣).

Oh I do remember not really liking Clockwork Orange at the time I watched it as all I saw was a lot of violence and couldn’t work out what was going on or why. Ironically I understood Pulp Fiction much better even though it was out of order.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Clockwork Orange is difficult to enjoy. In fact, enjoy wouldn’t be the right word. Parts of it still shock me on every single viewing. Nevertheless, I consider it an extremely interesting piece for many different reasons as goes for many films by Stanley Kubrick.

Some movies don’t need to be understood, don’t even try to understand the work of David Lynch ;>)

P.S. I can’t imagine how it must be to watch Picnic at Hanging Rock as an Australian ( school) kid

Posted using Partiko iOS

A couple that come to mind are Patton, Dog Day Afternoon, and The Outlaw Josey Wales. Patton was one of the first of what I would call raw war movies, showing a bit more of the reality of war. Though by today's standards, is pretty tame. Plus there was a lot of swearing, that to that time, was NOT in mainstream movies. Patton was the first I remember seeing that pushed back a bit on the glorification of war, though some is a bit over the top about the man. Or so I've heard. Never met him, so I'll leave that to folks that know. But his bravado kind of glorifies war all over again. Hadn't really thought about that until now.

The Outlaw Josey Wales was a classic western, and it had a bit of humor too. Loved Chief Dan George (hence I quote him now and then in my posts...) He stole that movie. I remember my friend Jimmy McD and I counting how many people Clint shot in total. No, not something to be proud of on some scale, but hey, we were kids when we watched it.
The western is probably my favorite genre, but not as many come out anymore, though a few more recent are classics (not 70's). Quigley Down Under, Silverado, and the more recent, really good Open Range.

Dog Day Afternoon is an early Pacino, and I like a lot of his stuff. Supposedly it's based on a real story, so that makes it even more interesting. If not a bit hard to believe.

Thanks for the food for thought on this idea. I love movies, and more will no-doubt come to mind in time. There were a lot of greats in the seventies. James Bond really got started then. (I realize few of these are very 'deep' movies, but entertainment is usually why I go...) Thanks, and movie on.

Awesome comment!

I remember enjoying Patton, watching it on TV in the attic of my parents house, ages ago.

Dog Day Afternoon is one of my favorites. It always got to me, every single time I watched it. Pacino once was my favorite actor and this is one of his finest performances as goes for his co-star John Cazale, who died way too early

I don’t remember having seen The Outlaw Josey Wales but I like a good western, when I see it.

Favs of mine are High Noon, Once Upon A Time in the West, The Good The Bad and The Ugly, The Great Silence ( taking place in the snow ), Jodorowsky’s El Topo and Unforgiven

Thanks again for adding to the conversation and STAY TUNED

Hey Vincent, You've named a lot of my faves from the 70s -- Picnic at Hanging Rock, Don't Look Now, the Philip Kaufman version of The Invasion of the Body Snatchers, The Wicker Man, Apocalypse Now, Deliverance-- whoa! Great list. You might want to take a look at my latest post on The Reincarnation of Peter Proud for more suggestions of 70s horror.

You left out some good ones (not horror, but great political thrillers): The Conversation (Coppola); The Parallax View (Pakula); The French Connection (Friedkin); Three Days of the Condor (Sidney Pollack).

I must admit that I liked the first remake by Tim Burton. Watched it in cinema, bought the dvd and watched it several times.

The first PotA from 1968 is still pretty amazing but the handful of sequels that followed weren’t TV movies for nothing. I all gave them a single watching and hardly remember a thing about them

I haven’t seen much of the > Tim Burton PotA films

I will definitely check out your post your referring to.

I thought of mentioning The Conversation and The Parallax View. The latter, especially, intrigued me when I saw it. The French Connection is pretty legendary too. I remember little of Three Days of the Condor. Unfortunately, I don’t have a photographic memory, not even when it comes to movies, so I might have watched thousands of them, I only have clear memories to a couple of hundred and even those are fragmented and
merely random scenes
and feelings ( of nostalgia ) :>)

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hello @vincentnijman, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Cheers!
Always appreciated :>)

Yeah!! The 70's were a great film decade.

I think it's a rare instance were "author film making" became the studio system standard. Some incredibly interesting and unique narratives where made backed by studio top dollars.

Talking about "The Driver" I'll add Taxi... making it "Taxi driver".

Hal Ashby, Coppola, Kubrick... The list goes on... Like some of the ones you mentioned... Peckinpah... Cassavettes... Malick...

One of the most interesting times, at least as American film is concerned.

A nice documentary dealing with the 60's and 70's cinema is "
Easy Riders, Raging Bulls: How the Sex, Drugs and Rock 'N' Roll Generation Saved Hollywood "

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64852.72
ETH 3178.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.20