COBRA KAI- On the Fence about it. Is it as good as everyone says?

in #movies6 years ago

When I first heard about the Youtube Red original series, my eyes rolled into the back of my head… hard. So hard, in fact, that I might have injured myself. Look, I’m not a Karate Kid hater by any means. I love the first one. I even love the second one. Is the second one almost exactly the same movie in Japan? Yes. But who cares. But I digress. When I heard about the new show and it being on Youtube Red, my first thought was… “Jesus, do we really need this? No, no we don’t.” My second reaction was “Oh boy, it’s going STRAIGHT to Youtube Red. It’s GOT to be AWFUL.”

Is it awful? I have NO IDEA.

I watched the first three episodes. It’s definitely nostalgic. It’s well shot. It brings back that old 80’s movie charm, for sure. It’s a love letter to the San Fernando valley, where I currently live. It’s 30 years later and the boys are all growsed up! Daniel-san is an auto dealer who “chops prices.” Johnny Lawerence is still a dick and he drinks now too. He’s also a handy man who’s not good at keeping his jobs. Mr. Miyagi is dead and, both guys have shitty kids. Welcome to Cobra Kai.

I don’t know if this show is good and, I don’t know if maybe I wasn’t in the right frame of mind for it when I started to watch it or if it does really suck and it’s fooling everyone who loves it to actually love it. I don’t like either character right now. Daniel has grown up to be kind of a tool, death griping his karate championship he won 30 years ago on an illegal move (technically). Johnny is still a douche bag but, now with alcohol… I mean, seriously, he beats up kids in the first episode. Now, he’s teaching a kid who was the victim of these other kids (the kids who Johnny beat up) by BULLYING him. I get the whole thing they are trying to say about how soft the new generation has become (Johnny is not a fan of the “weak” and in this day and age of “everybody gets a trophy,” they ARE weak) but, Johnny’s attitude toward the kid is just… sucky. He’s a dick to this kid. He’s like an abusive Mr. Miyagi. Who wants that?

Do I like these characters to follow them through another 7 episodes? Can their character arcs really change all that much? Do I continue to follow knowing my pal, Jesse’s dad, Marty Kove shows up near the end? He scares the shit out of me.

I’m still trying to wrap my brain around the show. People are raving about it but, they aren’t telling me WHY the show is good. It feels clunky and overacted (much like the movie with the exception of Pat Morita). The kids of the main stars are jerks. Zabka is a bully STILL and Larusso is a puss cake. Does Mr. Miyagi show up as a force ghost? Do you win a prize for watching it all? What’s the catch? Cause I don’t see it right now. If this is an anti-bullying message within the show, why is the lead a bully? And why the hell is Will Smith an executive producer? And do Daniel and Johnny duke it out at the end. Because I don’t know if I want to see two old guys beating one another up. I don’t know… maybe I’ll give it another try but, I don’t know if I get it.

Can anyone explain it to me? Oh, yeah… and is Ed Asner really THAT bored?



image
image @writesbackwards is a group of friends who love to write about life, sports, comedy, tech and other fun stuff!

Consider leaving a comment, we love rewarding engaging Steemians!

Sort:  

Good or not, the logo art is great

I think we should have self-defense but not like that that you mentioned in your post. I think the training of those fighter is very tough & painful that's why I don't like that fighter on the other hand wrestler are fixer I think these all don fake with us but thanks for this informative post @writesbackwards keep it up sir.

Sometimes we need to see the bad also in movies to understand what is bad and what is good.This is the reason of showing the bulling.

Agree with you that generally movies like this are boring ...
I like Karate Kid ... But when this movie is made in the series, it became a bit boring ...
Films like this usually have a cliche and predictable plot ...

Have a nice n lovely day, dear @writesbackwards...☕🤗❤

I have yet to see this series, but every good movie like this needs a very excellent bad guy. Thanks for introducing me to this... will check it out!13158.gif

good post keep it up.

It's a nostalgia move, plain and simple. Giving us 30-50 somethings a little blast from the past to pacify on. I went in skeptical but came out enjoying it for what it is.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70310.43
ETH 3568.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73