The Terminator- The Greatest Love Story Ever?

in #movies6 years ago

A few days ago, on May 12th, 1984, a Terminator was sent back from the future to kill Sarah Connor, the mother of resistance leader, John Connor, so that John may never be born. It failed thanks to future resistance fighter, Kyle Reese, who was also sent back to keep Sarah safe AND to do a little canoodling with Sarah aka… they did it and Kyle is ultimately the father of John Connor (JC, like Jesus Christ, for those of you who enjoy Jesus analogies). 34 years ago and the romantic undertones are still going strong. What the HELL am I talking about? I’ll tell ya. The Terminator is a love story at its core.

Sure, on the outside, The Terminator is a great sci-fi, action movie filled with cool special effects and exciting set pieces but, for you romantics out there (and the ladies), let’s look at the heart and soul of that movie… It’s a love story. Think about it… Kyle Reese receives a photograph of Sarah, the exact photo we see a scummy Mexican child take of her at the end of the film. He gets it from his KID who in turn got it from his mother. Now, John KNOWS Kyle is his dad but, because of the wackiness of time travel, John is OLDER than his father because he does the whole time travel dealio. So, John gives a picture of his mom to his pop. Kyle falls in love with her JUST THROUGH A PICTURE! He tells her he has studied every “every line and every curve” of that photograph.

Kyle Reese: [hiding inside a cave not far from the road] John Connor gave me a picture of you once. I didn't know why at the time. It was very old - torn, faded. You were young like you are now. You seemed just a little sad. I used to always wonder what you were thinking at that moment. I memorized every line, every curve... I came across time for you, Sarah. I love you; I always have.

He TIME TRAVELED FOR HER… naked and defenseless to boot! If that ain’t romantic, I don’t know WHAT is. So, in a sense, the Terminator,(at least to me) is probably one of the most under appreciated LOVE stories that has ever been committed to celluloid. James Cameron hi the nail on the head writing a darn near perfect love story subplot/motivation into his movie which is why I think it resonates so much with audiences. It works with a very primal sense of humanity.

If some future lady showed up to save my life from an unstoppable killbot AND gave me some of that sweet, sweet future sex, I’d be pretty smitten too. So, next valentines day or anniversary or what ever day is a romantic day for you and your significant other, throw The Terminator on and let those sparks fly. It’s just as sweet now as it was back in 1984.

Sort:  

You are right @writesbackwards terminator is one of the best science finction love story.I like it very much because of its Sci.fi.
Thanks dear @writesbackwards for sharing this movie

Absolutely Terminator is a great movie & the love story of terminator was great how a machine make such love Imagine but thanks for this great post @writesbackwards that is composed of glamorous story.

Its so interesting and sci.fi movie.
Thanks @writesbackwards for you love

I think it's the most confused love story ever! :)

I missed the movie so much! I hope they can put a continuation of the story and end it with how human was able to redeem the world from robots.

Sweet, sweet future sex. Sign me up.

SteemitPanel

Congratulations ! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

HB.pngYou published your @FirstPost
HB.pngYou made your @FirstVote
HB.pngYou got a @FirstVote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on @Steemitpanel.
For more information about SteemitPanel, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

excellent good movie I am a fan of the saga!

He TIME TRAVELED FOR HER… naked and defenseless to boot!

This is a great move for a make-up sex. Ever. But my GF want to see a Terminator remake starring by Michael Fasbender :|

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66384.36
ETH 3272.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27