🚀 Glitch Art "Smackman" - taking the Fishneck to the next levelsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #mspsteem5 years ago (edited)

While I am still a very happy artist working in more or less traditional media, my journey into the world of digital art just got even more exiting! Through a post by the extraordinary @shortcut, I discovered Glitch and Generative Art. I loved it from the first moment I saw it and couldn't wait to give it a try.

Before I got my first usable file, I did have to do a little research...

Without much knowing, what I was doing, I started experimenting and soon found myself in a dispute with my virus scanner. The moment I saved a glitched file, it was thrown into quarantine. After I finally found out, where it disappeared to, I managed to create an exemption, but now I had a file, that could neither be viewed nor deleted 😡

Eventually I found the bug and could go on to a fresh start. This time with Photoshop. I used one of my crazier traditional pieces, the "Fishneck"...

...and applied what I learned from Nathaniel Dodson's tutorial After playing around with some filters, I got two decent glitches.

But as much as I liked what I could do with my files, something was missing... until I had the idea, to create a kind of dialog between man and machine. Not to worry Ms. @erh.germany, my PC isn't ready to pass the Turing test yet 😅

But now I thought, why not combine the computer generated art with something more or less handmade. OK.. the computer didn't do it all alone, neither did I. We helped each other, but close enough, right?

Filtering, cropping and adjusting I finally arrived at my digital co-production (with my PC) of "Smackman", the very first picture in this post above.

Now, for as long as I can remember, I have always liked "Theme and Variations", be it in music or in visual art. I have done a number of projects in traditional media following that concept and digital art really offers itself for that. Being on a roll, I couldn't stop, until I had several more variations.

"Smackman II"


"Smackman III"


and finally, you probably guessed it already, "Smackman IV"


The plan is, to make them available as one of a kind rare digital collectibles in high resolution (2701x2701px)


If you want to try this yourself, you definitely should check out @shortcut's post



I enjoy reading your comments!


If you like my work, of course I appreciate your upvotes and resteems


appendix-2_01.png
appendix-2_02.pngappendix-2_03.pngappendix-2_04.pngappendix-2_05.png


All artworks by me

sig-2017-1.png

pfeil-3.png

See more of my work on BeScouted

Sort:  

Thank you for being here for me, so I can be here for you.
Enjoy your day and stay creative!
Botty loves you. <3

Thank you for being here for me, so I can be here for you.
Enjoy your day and stay creative!
Botty loves you. <3

Smackman is looking great :D. I like that he is jawless, showing all those perfect teeth and a big nice smile. A bit creepy and disturbing and surreal, they are very nice combination ^_^.

You are really killing it in the digital realm. I need to try this out. I just followed one link and was using two images provided to 'breed' new ones.This could really take me in, as I love genetics and breeding diagrams (from playing with chickens and their colours and cross breeding) so the idea of doing that with artworks is amazing!

Well, ONE more thing to add to my list and the time I NEED to find to do it!

Yeah, time is definitely the biggest problem here... all the things I want to do, sigh...


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Is really cool how new technology is bringing a different spin onto your arts, Reinhard :D Well, your originals are amazing as they are, too, though <3 <3 <3

I almost missed your Smackman. Frechdachs! Turing has already created the wrong premises after some intelligent critics, whose names have slipped my mind and which I am now too lazy to look at. HaHa! No offense. I am no longer married to the subject. It comes and goes.
Only good that I have still discovered that you have rubbed me in here.
Giggle.
Glitch is in English almost like in German, isn't it? Interesting. Intentional slipping in order to unintentionally achieve a result? What you artists come up with.
Is the Smackman a tribute to the Packman? I thought it was funny, but even then these hectic games made me nervous.
Best regards!

Amazing results for the first attempts in glitch art! I really like the fact, that my post had not only been read, but actually inspired you to try out this techniques. Also thanks a lot for sharing your experiences with the community. This kind of sharing knowledge and mutual inspiration is really a great a quality of the steemit community.

Thanks a lot for your approval! Your post was one of the most inspiring I ever read and I am eager to use more of the things you suggest. Lots to learn though... wish I could pack a few more hours into the day ;-)

That is one of the biggest benefits of being on steemit in my opinion. All the things to discover and all the knowledge being shared and distributed :-)

Just submitted my files to superrare. Hope they will be accepted. Are you on MakersPlace yet? They have a lot of really cool features, including the option to send a gift (even per email) or to pay with a credit card, for those uncomfortable with crypto currency!

Wow! I wasn't aware, that my post inspired you that much and I'm really pleased about that.

Fingers crossed, that you will be approved soon at SuperRare. I was invited to sell some of my digital art at MakerPlace, but I have to sort out, which kind of stuff to put up there, so that there are not too many style overlaps with the other marketplaces. But then I will certainly give it a try.

Both of you @reinhard-schmid and @shortcut inspire me and I want to try this. But, as reinhard said, we need more hours in the day! I went to sign up for superrare and it says I need to log back into my meta mask, now I have to remember where I stored the password! Oh heavens...

Glad, we inspired you:-) I definitely recommend using a password manager, when you deal with cryptos, though. Good luck in making it there!

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 62166.63
ETH 3021.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72