SPECIAL SHOW : The What Makes A Good Radio Show Radio Show - Thursday 4 October

in #mspwaves6 years ago (edited)

I have now been doing radio shows on MSP Waves for 9 months. The steem blockchain has been through a heck of a lot in that time.

Since I started a whole bunch of steem related radio shows and radio stations have come and gone. Steem radio has survived but I cannot say it has thrived.

I thought therefore it might be a useful exercise to take a rain check on steem based radio shows - what works well, what doesn't, how can we make it grow...?

So I've invited a big bunch of radio show hosts from MSP Waves and beyond to chew the fat, kick some ideas around and see what pops out.

It is going to be a bit free form and hopefully going to be a bit of fun.

It will also be great to hear from listeners - what works for you and what doesn't.



Who is coming on the show

We have a good range of guests already signed up to come on the show...



What we will be talking about

The show will be quite free form but these are some of the topics and questions I hope we can cover...

  • Is broadcast radio still a suitable format for the steem blockchain?

  • Will new live streaming technologies change how we output radio shows?

  • What technologies should we be using for shows now? And in a year's time?

  • What sort of content works best for steem based radio shows?

  • How can a host/show add value to MSP and the wider Steem user base?

  • Is using licensed music still viable?

  • Should show guests be rewarded for being on shows?

  • How should radio shows and radio stations be funded?

  • Do we need to start taking advertising?

  • Will SMTs be the answer for funding radio stations?



For sure there will be more guests and more questions added by Thursday.

It should be a pretty lively show.

Just to throw one little spice ball in there @globocop will be doing a reveal during the show of something new coming to MSP.

And if all goes well I might be giving out some Whalecoins and Airplay tokens to members of the audience actively engaged with the show.

Thank you to @freedomexists and @seveaux for donating these tokens.



My DSound Picks of the Week

Mingled in with the discussion this week I will be playing a number of my top picks from DSound including...



If you missed last week's Here Comes The News show with @hightouch, @enisshkurti, @kingswisdom, @cryptohazard, @meno, @ilazramusic, @miguelvargas and @gregorypatrick the recording is now available :



My regular weekly radio show airs on MSP Waves Radio on Thursdays from 8pm to 11pm UTC.

If you need to convert UTC time to your local time visit World Time Buddy

You will be able to listen through the PAL Discord server, via mspwaves.com, DLive or on Twitch at twitch.tv/mspwaves.



MORE OF MY POSTS...


[ graphics by @pennsif & @dsound & pixabay.com ]




My radio show is currently sponsored by DSound

Sort:  

I would really like to be around and bounce ideas together with you, I am just not sure that I am going to make it (tomorrow is a travel day ..)
@techslut will for sure be a perfect replacement.
This show is a very good idea, lets see if we can learn how to push things forward.
Kind regards

V useful forum and great initiative @pennsif. Looking fwd to bouncing ideas ans listening to feedback.

Thank you @globocop. I am looking forward to seeing what ideas can come bouncing out of this.



Thanks, Pennsif, I can't wait to hear what the other guests think! I'm definitely looking forward to it.

Should be a good range of input. Thank you for coming along Shane.

I love what you do for this community @pennsif!
The show is a great plus to all of us and we appreciate your great efforts - and your great skills in always making feel people comfortable speaking on the radio :-)

Thank you Marly, very kind of you.

I am looking forward to our show the following Thursday with @creatr and @cryptocurator.

Me, too!!! :-)

Man, if you want to know what makes good "radio"..it is @pennsif. I will attend and try to learn as much as I can, so I can offer a quality show as well as bridge our communities .Thank You for the invite!
~RESPECT~

Thanks @fracasgrimm. It will be great to have you on the show as well.

:)
I need to learn on how to add an emoticon.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 60936.15
ETH 2921.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70