Mt Ashland Mountain bike shuttle number 2

in #mtb6 years ago

Hello all, this is yesterdays shuttle ride from Ashland Mountain Adventures. It was my 2nd shuttle from this service in 3 days where they load up your mountain bike into a trailer, take you to the top of a mountain and drop you off.

While in the shuttle, listening to the talk from the 'enduro bro's' kind of made me think about the different 'hats' that I/we wear as cyclists. I'm sure most of the people on the shuttle ride just saw me as one of the 'enduro bro's' with my full suspension mtb.
(Enduro is a type of stage race where riders race typically going downhill and there are multiple stages. The person with the lowest time wins. There is multiple events each year and the person with the most points is the winner for the year)

When I'm riding my hard tail XC bike, I'm sure people see me as a typical XC rider.
When I'm on the road bike, I'm seen as a 'roadie'.
People do not see the other cycling 'hats' that I wear and that I ride a variety of bikes and terrain. It's interesting and you don't know how diverse a cyclist is until you speak with them.

The shot below is from the top of Mt. Ashland
topofmtn.jpg

The ride was over 14 miles (I started my GPS late) and 600 feet of climbing.
strava.jpg!

GPS data is from a Garmin Vivoactive HR and uploded to Strava.
data.jpg

A shot of some wild flowers while taking a short break on the trail.
flowers.jpg

The mountain is lush with tall trees and lush ferns. My green SC Blur LTc blends in well.
blurltc.jpg

I have more photos from this day, but the place where I am staying at now has a really slow internet connection. Plus a lot of people are using it. I'll have to go to a cafe tomorrow to get a decent connection.

Sort:  

Yes, agreed, we all tend to 'group' cyclists in downhill / enduro / roadie / track / cyclocross / MTB / XC / BMX / gravel, and then make fun of each other, while in reality most of us tend to have different bikes and do different types of cycling. The important thing is to keep the wheels turning on whichever type of bike!!!!

I did an Enduro race once in Seattle, and although I did enjoy the downhill challenges, I'm still puzzled as to why the uphills do not count.... (if you want to go down, you have to go up, is my philosophy). Perhaps I'm too old-school, and I am sure there is a big group of cyclists who really 'dig' this.

Yeah, the mtb'er tend to make fun of roadies and vice versa. Pure roadies typically see mtb'ers as beer drinking dirtbags. Mtb'ers tend to see roadies and the engineering types that do not like to get dirty...

I spoke with an older guy (57) on the Ashland shuttle the other day and he mentioned that they raced uphill and tried to survive the DH's. This is way back in the day in Santa Cruz.

Can't wait to see the rest of the photos. Have friends living in Redding and I think I'll go visit them to drive from there and try this one!

Redding is not too far from Ashland, I'd hit it up when you have the time. I loved it in Ashland.

We are waiting to see the rest of the pictures. I hope you get quick internet connection and we can see more beautiful pictures.

thank you for sharing your journey with us

I may upload them in a week in a summary post for my cycling trip. Thanks for visiting!

What a nice and heart touching scenes. I love it.

The many helmets we wear!

To add to the list I also ride all sorts of motorcycles. I have never ridden downhill, never tried, haven't had the opportunity to either, but it does look scary. The videos on YouTube don't quite give me the confidence to go downhill riding. Though it seems to be the coolest form of cycling.

Unlike other forms of cycling, downhill requires one to actually have some skills. Which I don't possess

Looking forward to more pictures of the countryside

DH racing is a niche as far as cycling. It is not for 95% of the mtb'ers out there. You need a specific bike and they are expensive, plus a person needs some serious skills to ride that fast.

There are a lot of injuries in DH, lots of broken bones even with full armor.

You got a 3.83% upvote from @upme thanks to @glennolua! Send at least 3 SBD or 3 STEEM to get upvote for next round. Delegate STEEM POWER and start earning 100% daily payouts ( no commission ).

You got a 2.02% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @glennolua!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64060.81
ETH 3129.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17