My Highlander Deck ( Blue Moon)

in #mtg6 years ago

cock.jpg

As I mentioned earlier this week, NLG Dandenong in Melbourne, Australia will be hosting the Eternal Masters Weekend event featuring tournaments in Vintage, Legacy and Australian 7 Point Highander.

Today I want to discuss the deck I will be running for Highlander (not the final list but should be pretty close). The asterix next to some card names represents the amount of point those particular cards are worth.

The deck is a blue based control deck which utilises a lot of counter magic and Blood Moon/Back to Basics to control the opponents game until you can either attack for the win or combo with Kiki-Jiki/Splinter Twin and Pestermite/Deceiver Exarch. As it runs majority basic lands the idea is to capitalise on opponents greedier mana base.

Lands (23)

DSC_0043.JPG

[4] Mountain
[8] Island
[1] Volcanic Island
[1] Steam Vents
[1] Desolate Lighthouse
[1] Sulfur Falls
[1] Misty Rainforest
[1] Polluted Delta
[1] Scalding Tarn
[1] Arid Mesa
[1] Flooded Strand
[1] Bloodstained Mire
[1] Wooded Foothills

Permanents (16)

DSC_0044.JPG

[1] Jace, the Mind Sculptor*
[1] Dack Fayden
[1] Jace, Vryn's Prodigy
[1] Back to Basics*
[1] Blood Moon
[1] Splinter Twin
[1] Sensei's Divining Top*
[1] Vendilion Clique
[1] Nimble Obstructionist
[1] Magus of the Moon
[1] Snapcaster Mage*
[1] True-Name Nemesis*
[1] Torrential Gearhulk
[1] Pestermite
[1] Deceiver Exarch
[1] Kiki-Jiki, Mirror Breaker

Instants/Sorceries (21)

DSC_0045.JPG

[1] Fiery Confluence
[1] Ponder
[1] Preordain
[1] Gitaxian Probe
[1] Brainstorm
[1] Stifle
[1] Spell Snare
[1] Spell Pierce
[1] Lightning Bolt
[1] Counterspell
[1] Remand
[1] Izzet Charm
[1] Mana Drain*
[1] Miscalculation
[1] Negate
[1] Mana Leak
[1] Electrolyze
[1] Exclude
[1] Cryptic Command
[1] Mana Confluence
[1] Force of Will*

Sideboard (15)

DSC_0046.JPG

[1] Red Elemental Blast
[1] Blue Elemental Blast
[1] Ceremonious Rejection
[1] Dispel
[1] Relic of Progenitus
[1] Null Rod
[1] Submerge
[1] Hibernation
[1] Propaganda
[1] Anger of the Gods
[1] Energy Flux
[1] Glen Elendra Archmage
[1] Sower of Temptation
[1] Venser, Shaper Savant
[1] Mindbreak Trap

As you can see I have lots of one pointers so I can spread them across the deck evenly. Some big issues this deck faces are ones that run lots of basics. Burn can be difficult if I can't keep up with the counterspells and Mono Green Ramp can be tricky too as I have to be sure on what I am countering. If I can get either of those opponents into top deck mode I should be fine.

Sideboard options for Burn are pretty much Dispel, Blue Elemental Blast and Anger of the Gods.

Sideboard for Green Ramp are submerge, Hibernation and Propaganda, maybe an Anger of the Gods depending on whether they reply more on mana dorks or on mana rocks (artifacts).

There has been know to be a few Workshop and other artifact based decks about so I also have Ceremonious Rejection, Null Rod, and Energy Flux to help against that style of play.

While this is not the final cut, hopefully it can give some of you a gauge of our national format and maybe some of you in the rest of the world would like to give it a go.

Sort:  

What do you think about this Steem Monsters thing? Seems like it would be right in your wheelhouse.

Never heard of it. I may have to google it.

Sorry, I should have linked it. I think it's a CCG that is happening right here on this STEEM platform.

https://steemit.com/@steemmonsters

No worries, I have a look. May even give it a go. Thanks for the heads up.

Looks like my kinda deck XD

And probably my partner's kinda deck as well, the boys were all banging on about Kiki-Jiki a month or so ago (which I'd never heard of prior to that but not hard given that I've been well out of things for the last decade).

goatsig

I love this deck mostly because many others hate it :)

Are you one of those people that gets hate drafted against by any chance? XD

goatsig

I don't draft often enough for people to do that. I am a really bad drafter, that's why I play eternal constructed. The format changes slowly enough for me to keep up with.

Yeh I don't think I could draft either XD My partner likes it as he likes the challenge of building decks on the fly and he seems to be reasonable at it. When they do cube drafts here it's hilarious watching our friends picking cards just so he can't have them XD

Eldest drafts as well but I think he prefers constructed too :)

goatsig

Good luck for eternal weekend. It's a shame the rptq is the same weekend (in Adelaide). I need to get my self organised with a highlander deck for the Kurgan league too.

Thanks mate, if you aren't playing maybe you could give me some suggestions as to how you think the deck should look.

Looks really good. I also quite like fire/ice and mental misstep.

Yeah, might look towards those. I'll recheck the curve and see where they might fit.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by bogglemcgee from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63671.94
ETH 3040.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01