MTG Draft night : Core 19

in #mtg6 years ago

cover.jpg

What's up Steemit.
I was surprised tonight with an opportunity to draft the new Core 19 set.

Drafts are pretty fun, and I'm getting better at them, so I was down.

3 packs per player(5 of us), drafting to make a 40 card deck.

In my first pack, I found the Brawl Bash Ogre, and decided that I was going to play black and red.

sacCreatures.jpg

When the next pack was passed to me, I grabbed the Dark-Dweller Oracle, and from then on, I was going to make a sacrifice deck!

I grabbed as many token spawners as I could find, in this case, the Doomed Dissenter, and the Goblin Instigator. This would give me stuff to sacrifice to power my main guys.

tokenGuys.jpg

The Doomed Dissenter totally looks like Barack Obama!
obama.jpg

I was delighted to find some steal spells in this set, so I grabbed 3 Act of Treasons!
sacSpells.jpg

This gave me the ability to steal other people's creatures and sacrifice them before the end of the turn:)
Abnormal Endurance let me sacrifice my token spawners and bring them right back to make more tokens:D

As a base soldier-guy, I grabbed some ogres with menace, so they were hard to block.

soldier.jpg

For some extra kick, I had 2 brutal sorceries, although I never got to use them together.

dreamTeam.jpg

I did get to use Doublecast with Act of Treason to steal and sacrifice 2 creatures in one turn, which was awesome!

The deck worked great, and I got 2nd place overall.
I was the only one that beat the guy who won, as I won 1 out of 3 against him.
Other than that game, he went undefeated. His deck kept creating 2/2 knights with vigilance attacking every turn, with angels giving all creatures a +1+1. It was mean.

It was super fun overall, even though I got home 5 hours later than normal.

Happy New Moon Steemit!

tuvokLiveLong.jpg

Sort:  

Doomed Dissenter totally looks like an alternate universe Barack Obama :)) I'll be drafting M19 this weekend, can barely wait. I wrote an entire analysis of the new Core Set, you might be interested in checking it out :D https://steemit.com/gaming/@stefanonsense/let-s-talk-magic-or-why-i-m-excited-about-m19

amazing game.

What a fascinating game! What a pity that I do not understand anything about this ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 71539.00
ETH 3603.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75