Have you ever heard of Mudlarking before?

in #mudlark6 years ago (edited)

Sift your way through History

I was cruising the tube (You), and you know when a random video pops up in the recommended section that for some unknown reason, one is incapable of not clicking on it. Well, I had that moment, which led me to a new potential hobby called Mudlarking.


23.png

I found myself watching videos from Nicola White's YouTube channel of Nicola and a few mudlarkers combing the sides of rivers raising small treasures and pieces of history. This is something that I could really get into and I don't feel that boredom would be an issue with this hobby, as I love digging for history.

23.png

There is plenty of mud in the Netherlands and waterways galore, but what about the beach? Surely that would be the same process of sifting one's way through history to find the historical treasures buried below. Is that called 'Sandlarking'? I'm unsure, but I might give the sandlarking a try first to hone my larking skills and see how I get on. I may even be inspired enough to start a series similar to Nicola's on Steemit's Dtube, but we shall see.

23.png

Master Movers

Nederlanders are master earth movers and there has been a lot of mud that's been shovelled around this land, so there could be so many undiscovered treasures to be sieved out, this will definitely be continued...


Thanks for taking a view into Mudlarking and be sure to follow Nicola and her mudlarking treasure hunts.


Logo.jpeg

Sort:  

This post has received a 1.77 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @flatrider.

Nicola White is great! I watch her and have been inspired to one day get a license to beachcombe the Thames Foreshore. At the moment, I go to UK beaches and rivers. It's a great way to find interesting stuff. I also keep all the shards of pottery I find to one day make a mosaic from it all. Happy sandlarking :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70810.22
ETH 3571.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73