Small Buddha Sculptures in the Exhibition of Goryeo Dynasty

in #museum5 years ago

One thing impressive in the exhibition was small sculptures.
There were various appearances of small buddha sculptures in the exhibition.
It seemed that those small sculptures were made for carrying and serving in daily life.

Even though those sculptures were small, the expression of buddhas’ faces was so delicate.

As far as I know, the Basic theory of Buddhism is starting from removing the desire. Then, how the political power could me build under those spiritual circumstances.

Anyway the small buddha statues seemed very common in Goryeo dynasty.
It seemed the small house below remind of the temple.

_2170151.JPG

_2170150.JPG

_2170212.JPG

_2170214.JPG

_2170215.JPG

_2170216.JPG

_2170223.JPG

Sort:  

Excellent post sir I really enjoy your page keep up the good work 👏 and I really appreciate your support it means alot thank you

Reminds me of a Buddha figure I shot at our local art museum. Detroit Institute of Art.

20181104_135758.jpg


20181104_135814.jpg

@slowwalker,
Those are pretty amazing! It also reveals the technology behind the crafting and how much it was improved at that time too! Great photography and like you said, those are impressive!

Cheers~

Oh Reallly excellent all photos. It is very important things that is historical photography. I am glad to you

the buddha sculptures are very majestic, look so charming with beautiful golden colors sir @slowwalker

Very interesting and impressive. Thank you for this valuable post

Posted using Partiko Android

I wonder if they get ideas for modern temple designs from these old pictures and statues?

Stunning! I love the three together. They are all so intricately made... really beautiful... but no tummies to rub on those I see... lol

@slowwalker, these golden Buddha statues very impressive to scenery. We're lucky to see them. Goryeo dynasty made glorious traditional things to see current and next generations.

Posted using Partiko Android

That is beautiful and unique works, it is difficult to do small statue and Artworks than the big sizes, because even for small one the Artist need to reflect the features of figure how it would be in real size. I was always thinking if such Artists had any helpful gadgets such as enlargement glass, and fine instruments. When I see such little figures, that reminded me the stuff in Europe when they had a little crucifix, made sometimes of wood or sometimes of ivory , that they made for travellers, so that they also could pray. I was wondering if the same idea was behind those Buddha's too?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.035
BTC 66739.07
ETH 3228.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23