Bands I really Loved: The J Geils Band. - by @awgbibb

in #music6 years ago (edited)

I think I first heard of this Band when a Friend of Mine , Gordon Bakewell , introduced me to them . Sometime after 1968 , Chris was really big into them as well , first band I came across that had a Harmonica Player as a permanent lead instrument in a Band

Peter Wolf was an absolutely Dynamic Frontman!

An American rock band formed in 1968, in Worcester, Massachusetts, under the leadership of guitarist John "J." Geils. The original band members included vocalist Peter Wolf, harmonica player Richard "Magic Dick" Salwitz, drummer Stephen Bladd, vocalist/keyboardist Seth Justman and bassist Danny Klein. Wolf and Justman served as principal songwriters. The band played R&B-influenced blues rock during the 1970s and soon achieved commercial success before moving towards a more mainstream radio-friendly sound in the early 1980s, which brought the band to its commercial peak ( this info is straight from Wikipedia)

Interesting Concept :- " First I Look at the Purse!"

Peter Wolf ( who married Faye Dunaway the actress) left in 1983 when he felt the style of music was changing , went solo.

The Band did another Album with the Keyboard Player singing , was not successful, and then split in '85

My Youngest Son , Geils is named after this Band

So who really invented Rap?

For you real Music Lovers, here is a Full Concert from 1977

And another Full Concert Get together in 2009!

John Geils was a very keen Race Car Mechanic and when not busy with Music , was Racing and Building Cars!

Sounds kind of familiar?

All Videos were scoured from YouTube and appear courtesy of them. not my property!

John Geils died in 2014 , so no more reunions , I would expect.

Hope you Like this Reminder or, Introduction, to a Truly Great Live Band?

Sort:  

This one also my favorite

fabilious i am in love with this mavillious rockkkkkkkk it dude!

Nice article, never heard of them before, but they do sound great.

wonderful music. I am really enjoyed those music. thank you so much for sharing.

excellent song!! thank you so much

amazing post thank you so much for sharing

really nice dear

Big up from Morocco!!!

owo really beautifull music here @africaunited thanks for shareing lovely music

Very good, I love this song and it's the first time I listen to it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66258.39
ETH 3170.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.07