Australian Number One Songs 1969 (May)

in #music5 years ago (edited)

View this post on Hive: Australian Number One Songs 1969 (May)


May 1969


Imgur


Back for another installment of Australian No. 1 Singles from the year 1969... actually I'm a little behind schedule this month and I really don't have any excuses for that, other than my failing memory lol

While researching on the artists' website I was really surprised to find that Russell Morris is in fact still touring and playing live gigs and you've gotta take you hat off to that. I mean, these days, I'm not sure that I could drag myself out to watch a live gig, let alone, perform that gig... but I guess, he's a man that loves what he does and that makes all the difference.

According to his website, the legendary Australian musician's career started of course over 50 years ago when he became the first Australian artist to score consecutive number one singles with his first two releases – ‘The Real Thing’, which is one of the classic psychedelic singles of all time, and ‘Part Three Into Paper Walls’. Both reached #1 on the Australian chart, and what followed has become one of the most remarkable stories in contemporary Australian music.


As per usual, I've listed below the Number One Songs that were topping the Australian Charts in 1969 and for convenience, I've provided a link for you to easily have a quick listen to the song and (if you're as old as me) wonder where all those years went.


Australia Number One Songs - 1969

src
Edit: It appears that my source website is no longer available therefore I will refer to the capture archived on The WayBack Machine from 20 October 2018


Date:

Artist:

Single:

B side:

Weeks at Number 1

Apr 20 – May 17

Peter Sarstedt

Where Do You Go To My Lovely?

4

May 18 – 31

Russell Morris

The Real Thing

2

Line

Thanks for stopping by and reading my post, I really do appreciate your time.

And remember to keep smiling, it makes people wonder what you're thinking...!


Kindest Regards

If you enjoyed reading my post, please follow, comment and upvote.
All photos, stories and graphics are my own work unless otherwise noted.


Imgur

Line

stnicholas2018.png level.png weeklyAuthor.png

Make your own steemitboard footer with this post by @arcange

posts.png comments.png upvotes.png rewards.png replies.png upvoted.png

Line

Proudly representing

Imgur

Line

Proud supporter of @steeming-hot

steeming-hot-bot_small.png

Sort:  

Hi, @alphaccino.art!

You just got a 0.01% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64999.89
ETH 3101.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87