Music vs Series, Streaming vs Vinyls.

in #music5 years ago

It is said that when a blogger wants to pump some statistics on the site or increase his involvement on Instagram, he asks his readers for their favorite series or asks for advice on this matter. Suddenly, it turned out that you can not watch movies, do not read even too much books and not interested in music, and yet be an active recipient of popular culture. It is fascinating in its own way.

If you look at it closely, the music played a similar role more than a dozen years ago - not that it suddenly became irrelevant, but for my generation in their youth music defined an environmental affiliation. We talked a lot about the character and outlook of the recipient, and most importantly - it was an ideal topic for conversations during social gatherings and made small talk really enjoyable. It's been a long time since I heard anyone ask me if I heard a new album or single, about my favourite artists or even a genre of music. I have not talked about music in general for a long time. With anybody.

FF6A6EB2-708F-4575-83BC-9AEAAFD0DC0C.jpeg

There is a considerable risk that such a question will meet with a wall of silence or a shrug - the enigmatic "I do not listen to any specific genre" evolved from the initial opening into various trends into something amorphous and defying definition. And this is how I, who a decade ago, listened to the most important albums on an ongoing basis and kept my hand on the pulse of the music market, I have no idea what is currently being listened to. I hear the echoes of trends, but sometimes I do not even listen to these popular singles: I am comfortably in my niche and I rarely add anything new to my music list.

Although I am not looking for guilty, I have some grief for streaming, which has taught me to stop listen entire albums and has eradicated the need to collect. I'm throwing out a bit of YouTube, that it instilled in me the habit of reaching only for singles, massively listening to new products, directing the number of page views and hot names. Although on my list on Spotify, big stars are intertwined with performers that no one has ever heard of, I have to say this without wishing to admit: it's not worth asking me about what I've heard recently.

And it's totally good, that you can count on the series in these difficult times: it turns out that it's where I usually find pieces that do not leave me for long months and which I hear in silence, in the dark when I am lying at night I'm almost asleep, but not quite yet. A bit like I was 16 years old, I devote all my attention to the music and do not make it a background to make dinner or clean up the room.

598DEDC5-0E56-4699-ACE3-87E2A7DB35FC.jpeg

  • After the 2nd season, I really liked ”Rick and Morty”. Although the series did not convince me at first because of the excess of farts and pangs (seriously WHAT ?!), it finally turned out that the main character is so overwhelmed with unhappiness and so spectacularly collapsing in itself that I could not be interested in his faith. Below is a lovely song about the genocide "Moonmen", which grabbed my heart: I would like to have it on the album.

  • I found something for fans of Quentin Tarantino: a 5-hour music list, consisting of over 100 songs, which you know for sure from his movies (you can find a similar list with songs from Martin Scorsese's movies). About how important are the sound paths in the work of Tarantino, everyone who has watched only "Pulp Fiction" or "Kill Bill" knows. Tarantino talked about his approach to music in an interview for Reuters like this:

  • I am always looking for some cool song that I could use as a big set piece. I’ll finish work and I’ll go into my record room and I’ll put on some song, and literally, I can see it on the screen. I can project myself into a movie theater and I’m watching the scene onscreen and I’m hearing the music and I’m imagining an audience: either an audience of people I know who are digging it or an audience of people I don’t know who are digging it — they’re always digging it. (laughs) And it keeps reminding me that I’m making a movie.

    https://open.spotify.com/user/6b9pufvfqsfr5a8i1b4resmtu/playlist/2AGHxu1Dyi8ynUiW17sNPx?si=GGq1UtvDSsazQ_T8qCZ5Ew

    https://www.nme.com/news/music/various-artists-699-1221659

    BCEB0023-768F-4BC0-B348-2DF82AE93745.jpeg

    Ps. To be honest I love vinyl and it is one of those things when I'm a pure snob.

    #music #facts #blog #culture

    Sort:  

    Hello @anaerwu, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

    Thank you for an upvote.

    Posted using Partiko iOS

    Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 3 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

    I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 4 SBD worth and should receive 283 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

    I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

    Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
    trufflepig
    TrufflePig

    Pretty painful topic of conversation today. Times go and every day there are hundreds and thousands of new tracks. It just so happened that with the music I was from my very childhood, it all started with the MTV hit parades, I loved listening to Depeche Mode, I loved Nirvana and Prodigy, and many other great artists. In my youthful years, music was less accessible to me than it is now, and I had to listen to one record for weeks or even months. Over time, most of the music has ceased to be a culture and has become an industry. Yes, somewhere in London in the underground they continued to organize parties and dance under Jungle and Drum and Bass, this is cool, now this is not enough, everything has become tied with money and many musicians write music for money and fame.

    I am glad that Techno culture flourishes in Germany to this day and sets the trends for the whole world, this is important!

    As for music carriers, vinyl is the purest sound, it is a classic that returns to the music world, not many people want to buy records because of their expensive cost, but still the vinyl will win!

    I agree with you. I still remember times when I got my new records or cd and the excitement I felt during playing it for the first time. When me and my friends talk about new albums and we exchanged them between us. Artist back in those days always put more effort in their work and to fans.

    Posted using Partiko iOS

    Perhaps due to the fact that the music market is full of shit, I became a musician.

    Coin Marketplace

    STEEM 0.31
    TRX 0.12
    JST 0.034
    BTC 64742.01
    ETH 3172.49
    USDT 1.00
    SBD 4.10