Andy May - Woman in the Wings - House Concert

in #music6 years ago

This video is from a concert that I recently performed in Delaware.
Behind the Song
Andy: Many folks ask me if this song is about my mom. As I started to write it, I surely was inspired by her example. Then, Lauren LeCroy May added her wise touch to the lyric, and Jim Heffernan brought some good insight, as well. When the song was complete, I felt like we had created something that not only honored my mom but also made a statement about all people who encourage good things in the lives of those around them. Their encouragement lives on long after it is given.

We were writing songs for a lot of different artists that I was producing when we moved to the Nashville area in 1996. The great American songwriter, Tom Paxton, had advised us to, “keep writing for the family,” when we got to Music City. We always try to follow that advice.

The Woman in the Wings
©Andy May, Lauren LeCroy May, James Heffernan (Swift River Music/BMI)

You can find this song on my Room for Roots CD - http://andymay.com/cds/room-for-roots/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64057.95
ETH 3104.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90