4D SOUND ♬ - Rrose // Lucy // SNTS

in #music6 years ago (edited)

Captura de ecrã 2018-07-10, às 23.21.17.png

A couple of years ago I found some techno producers with whom I identify at a conceptual level, the way they experience sound and what they want to achieve with the sound they produce. These concepts are all about the way we humans perceive sound in space and time.

For me, sound (as in dance music) isn’t just “something” that comes out of speakers and make us dance. Sound can be felt, sound can be tactile, have texture, color, a smell...sound can change our perception of place, or give us a perception of our place in a space, or the space around us.

There are producers who do more than dance music. They create worlds. If you listen, for example, to an #SNTS live act in the dark with headphones, your brain will be cheated and you will find yourself looking at and following shapes in the dark. This is just an example of how a producer can create a fully omnidirectional sound environment. Or by breaking rules they end up creating different spaces.

I love the dance factor and for me, it is imperative that dance music makes me dance. But the more I immerse myself in sound, the more I need to experience sound in multiple dimensions, around, beneath, above, between and through me. So today I bring some sounds from techno producers that do this very well.


━━━━━━━━━━━━━━❪🎧❫━━━━━━━━━━━━━━

Rrose


#Rrose is an obscure techno producer who bears the name of a conceptual character (Rrose Sélavy) created by Marcel Duchamp in the 1920s. Seth Joshua Horvitz, it’s his real name and it’s also known as Suite K and Sutekh.

Rrose: I hope it will take them to a place that's impossible to describe in words. Nothing more specific than that. Well... I guess I often think of creating a juxtaposition or interplay between a meditative state and a violent or oppressive (oppressed?) state. Techno forms the core, but I try to bring in subtle outside influences and create a kind of sonic and rhythmic alchemy between tracks.

DISCOGS - Support​ The Artist Buy Records :)


━━━━━━━━━━━━━━❪🎧❫━━━━━━━━━━━━━━

Lucy


Luca Mortellaro aka #Lucy is a DJ and producer from Italy and the founder of Stroboscopic Artefacts. https://secretthirteen.org/interview-with-lucy-of-stroboscopic-artefacts/

What's happening now (and what I'm also trying to do) is to give it another meaning, which is this deeper connection, restoring the ritual sense on the dancefloor. Because it's a hugely important social ritual. That's why people are getting so interested in it in a slightly different way than previously, I think. At least in places which I like and I like to play in, there's kind of a respect to these processes. It's not just about expecting the next hit. It's more a “treat me” attitude like you'd be on a healing therapy.

DISCOGS - Support​ The Artist Buy Records :)


━━━━━━━━━━━━━━❪🎧❫━━━━━━━━━━━━━━

SNTS



Little is known about this techno producer. His sound is dark as hell and until this day, the most difficult sound for me to listen. It brings to life​ all my fears of the unknown, violence and oppression. But the quality of the sounds SNTS crafts is so stunning that my fear is substituted​ by emotion and surrender.

Yes, it was created with a very clear idea in mind, as nothing is by chance. As you might have noticed, I’m an absolute fan of experimental, offbeat, and ambient sounds, and in all my releases I’ve always included at least one track with these characteristics. My idea from the beginning was to create a personal journey through sounds that would allow us to travel to those recondite places that, although we do not know, we long to discover, with a set of marked rhythms and tense atmospheres.
As I have previously mentioned, behind sounds there always has to be an intention for which it has been created, to transmit a situation or to provoke a reaction in the listener. I wanted these tracks to convey the sensation of someone traveling through spaces never visited before, which must be traveled in a limited time as each step leads to a different scenario, experiencing it with all the emotions that this path can generate.

DISCOGS - Support​ The Artist Buy Records :)

If you like to explore sound and perception go to http://www.4dsound.net you will love it!
You can find there LUCY & AMANDA MORELLI, DASHA RUSH, OSCAR MULERO, PANTHA DU PRINCE, RUMEX...just to name a few!


Music is an explosive expression of humanity!
U5dtAYGt9YqiQJ4MmAF33LYbWEtVExo_1680x8400.jpeg

Sort:  

I really enjoyed the visuals you offered surroinding the effects music and sounds have in our lives. For me its really easy to forget how impactful and important sounds are to our perception and experience. Great article, great tracks! Thank you!

Thank you! I'm completely obsessed with sound, silence and the human perception of it all.
Sound and science still have a lot to talk to each other :)

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

This post has received a 3.13 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @arcanu.

I love music. Its like we are in heaven.

@resteemator is a new bot casting votes for its followers. Follow @resteemator and vote this comment to increase your chance to be voted in the future!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70310.43
ETH 3568.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73