My evening filming with some pop icons (ish)

in #music5 years ago

She loves you

(yeah, yeah, yeah)

The opening words and melody to the fantastic evening I had filming with The Beatles

Well, actually, more like Beatlemania - a fantastic tribute show from four lads based across the UK, who tour the show nationwide on a regular basis (to sold out, packed out venues, may I add)

Quite amazing.

image


The show was totally fantastic

It was note for note perfect, and it was a careful re-enactment based on various Beatles shows, live appearances and album covers - a really authentic show that captured the magic.

On a few occasions I was caught up in it like a massive Beatles fan girl, minus the fainting and obsessive screaming, and felt like I was hearing the real thing. Slightly weird.

image

The set list was incredible, with an hour and a half show spanning the highlights of the bands career.
It was packed with the hits (obviously), but with the sheer volume of Beatles material to choose from, I bet it is no easy task choosing what songs and where to stick them.

Except it's fairly obvious where to stick Hey Jude.

image

The band had a stage show that involved three costume changes with various clever intermissions to allow for the change.

They even changed the kick drum art and riser artwork to fit the albums.

image

image


Amazing to think that the band didn't appear to employ any other crew to help run the show behind the scenes either - it was just a carefully planned and scheduled performance.

The lads banter in between songs was fantastic too, all in the tone of the cheeky and irreverent way with words the band famously had. Funny stuff. Even better with the scouse accents.


The reason for me being there is because I had the pleasure of being asked to camera-op for a short video promo, aimed at YouTube and general social use.

It entailed me operating my C100mkii camera with 24-105 lens in a fixed position to the side of the stage, capturing the action as best I could, as it happened.

I was on "Pauls" side, and had a clear view of all members, especially handy that Ringo was up on the riser.

In addition to Darren - who asked
Me to shoot with him on this job - I had my GoPro running from the back to capture the silhouettes. I think Darren had another 3 or 4 cameras running. The final edit is looking great!

I left the show with a smile of my face and I've not stopped humming The Beatles since. Mainly "I Saw Her Standing There" Win.

image

Check out the band: https://ukbeatlemania.com/home

Sort:  

Sounds like a great night, I hope you got to take it in for yourself too.

Indeed! On occasion I was watching with my own eyes and not through the camera - which is dangerous because the fluid head tripod means the shot can wander without me realising. Eeeek!

Sounds like you need eyes in the back and side of your head! Glad you enjoyed the night.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64029.44
ETH 3157.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.02