SONG OF THE DAY - "Holy" - PVRIS (72)

in #music6 years ago

ce1b539f368b565e28e328aa9ff02ea4.1000x562x1.jpg

I'm going a bit of a different direction with today's song of the day.

If any of you have been following this blog, you've probably guessed by now that I'm a Christian, since I usually post music written by Christian artists. So you'd probably not expect me to use a song that is essentially written against Christians, right? Well, here we are.

A couple years ago, PVRIS released this with the purpose of calling out followers of Jesus Christ. Essentially, the song calls Christians hypocrites for believing one thing (the Bible), yet often treating other people certain people (eg. homosexuals) with disdain. Though I'm not about to lump all Christians into the same basket, this is a real issue that needs to recognized. The struggle between Christianity and sin is real, and many Christians go about the way they treat non-believers, specifically people of the LGBTQ+ community, with a lack of wisdom, discernment, and love. Yes, this is a very deep issue, but many Christians do not treat these people with the love of Christ, but instead with disgust. I'm not going to go too deep into my personal thoughts on this issue (I could write another post about it if you'd want, let me know in the comments), but to say it as simply as possible, Christians definitely need to reevaluate the ways in which they treat others, and this song offers a blunt challenge to do so.

Give it a listen below:

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70597.89
ETH 3559.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77